Chocolate & Peanut Butter Overnight Oats

When Yuseff and I bought our deep freezer, I developed a misguided attitude towards freezing, which was: freeze everything!

Apparently, not all things thaw back to their original state. Greek yogurt, for example, gets very very runny and also grainy. It’s actually kind of gross. So last week, I found myself with 32 oz of plain, non-fat greek yogurt that you couldn’t pay me to eat. I knew that I needed to dig up some recipes to put this stuff to use.

TGFP (Thank God for Pinterest… obviously).

A few months ago, I pinned a link from The Yummy Life for Overnight Refrigerator Oatmeal. I adapted her recipe to go with what I already had in my house and am in love with the result. The Yummy Life has six fruity options, which probably makes her recipes slightly healthier than mine, but I was out of fruit, so I had to improvise!

This breakfast was easy to make, easier to grab-n-go, and so filling. I actually only finished half for breakfast and saved the rest for my afternoon snack!

Chocolate Peanut Butter Overnight Oats

Step 1: In a small jar, layer 1/4 cup rolled oats, 1/4 cup plain, non-fat greek yogurt, and 1/4 cup half and half (or milk). Screw the lid on your jar and shake it up.

Step 2: Open the jar and add 1-2 tsp flax seed (optional), 1/2 tsp unsweetened cocoa powder, 1 tbsp peanut butter (I used creamy, but crunchy would give it a nice kick, too), and about 1 1/2 tsp honey (add it to your taste). Stir to combine with other ingredients.

Step 3: Taste and make adjustments. I like dense, almost paste-like oatmeal, so I added another 1/8 cup of oats to mine. If you like thinner oatmeal, you can add another splash of half and half or milk.

Step 4: Refrigerate! In the morning, grab a jar on your way out the door and enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Chocolate & Peanut Butter Overnight Oats

  1. Pingback: Mini German Pancakes with Berry Sauce « By the (cook)Book

  2. Pingback: Oatmeal Cookie Overnight Oats « By the (cook)Book

  3. Hey do you use ground flax seed or whole? Also does the flax work the same as the chia seed to absorb the liquid? TIA

Don't Be Shy. Leave a Reply: