Portobello Cap Pizzas– South Beach Phase 1 Lunch

Sometimes, I look at weekly meal plans on various websites and the thing that always irks me is when the lunch option is something that’s meant to be eaten hot and fresh. Like a Panini or grilled chicken breast. Your options are to make it the night before, microwave it at the office, and eat soggy sandwiches and tough, dried out meat. Or… don’t have a job?

So, fair warning on this recipe… it’s one of those. I’d say it’s way better to make this for lunch on a weekend or day off (or even make it for a light dinner), so that you really enjoy it’s deliciousness, but if you’re in phase 1 of the South Beach Diet, it’s a Thursday, and you’re ready to punch whoever invented salad in the face, go ahead and make it the night before work to reheat in the break room. It’s still yummy and still better than lettuce.

Why can’t you just have a doughy crust like your sister?

Can anybody tell from the tone of my last two posts that I’m not happy about the fact that I’m on a diet? Italians shouldn’t have to give up carbs. It’s not in our nature!

Portobello Pizzas

Step 1: Drizzle some olive oil on the tops of 4 large mushroom caps. Sprinkle with salt and pepper. Hand them to your boyfriend to grill on both sides (or go ahead and do it yourself, If you know how to use a grill).

Remove the gills if you want.

Step 2: Spread 2 tbsp of pizza sauce on the underside of the caps. For South Beach Dieters: check the nutrition labels on your sauce options. Look for less than 3 grams of sugar per 1/4 cup (I used Chef Boyardee–who knew it would be my best option– which had 2 g/serving). Also check the ingredient list. Sugar should not be listed as an ingredient. Any sugar content in the nutrition information should be natural sugars from the tomatoes.

Step 3: Sprinkle with fat-free mozzarella cheese.

Step 4: Add desired toppings. We used sliced black olives, since I love a good mushroom and black olive pizza.

Step 5: Bake at 350° for 10-13 minutes.

Yum! I can only image how amazing this tasted at that very moment!

16 thoughts on “Portobello Cap Pizzas– South Beach Phase 1 Lunch

  1. I’m glad I’m not the only one annoyed that the diet book lunch options seem to only be for people who don’t work or who work from home!

      • Found this recipe via pinterest. Thought it was cool/not annoying or offensive. And then I read the comments.
        I think that:
        1. Yeah, it was a joke, but one with implications that women should default to men for certain traditional roles such as grilling, as your suggestion to go to one’s boyfriend came before suggesting the reader (also assumed to be female) try it themselves. This might offend people who like to think of themselves as independent and not reliant on others to do basic tasks like grilling. I personally wasn’t annoyed/offended by this and I understood what you meant…
        2. …until I saw this response, where the sarcasm and blatant ignorance is palpable. I normally don’t try to educate ignorant people on the internet, but I thought that you would like to reconsider taking the time to understand your readers’ opinions and respect them instead of getting defensive. Respecting other people’s thoughts and opinions is a great life skill to have, especially if you’re trying to run a blog where having a consistent reader fan base that likes you is essential.

      • Just FYI I found this on Pinterest and thought that line was awesome! So much so I showed it to my husband and said “see I’m not the only one that leaves the grilling to my partner!”
        Haters gotta hate… thanks for the recipe, looks so good!!

      • See response to previous comment. The bit that “Natalia” found annoying literally had nothing to do with the author of the article having a boyfriend, and the fact that you came to this conclusion is appallingly shallow. I know you probably didn’t have the mental capacity to see why someone might be slightly put off by the author’s (unintentional?) implication that women should be reliant on their boyfriends, but I hope now you understand the importance of seeing a situation from someone else’s perspective before telling someone to “Chill, dude.”

    • Don’t worry, I saw how you could have perceived that as annoying, and I did my best to show the other commenters where you were coming from, and the importance of respecting other’s opinions (yours). Hope this helped. -A

  2. Can’t wait to try these. Did you peel off the outer skin of the mushroom? What would you suggest doing if you can’t get to a grill that’s one foot covered with snow?

    • Hi! I didn’t peel off the outer skin, just rinsed the caps to clean them off (and since this post, I scrape out the gills because they gross out my fiance).
      I totally feel your pain with the buried-in-snow-grill! That step can easily be done with a griddle pan on the stove, panini press, or George Foreman (or other little electric counter-top grill). Worst case scenario, just use a saute pan!

  3. This recipe looks so good! I love grilled portobello mushrooms. This is the first recipe blog that I have seen people find something to complain about though. I think its cute to say hand off the mushrooms for your boyfriend/husband to grill. I think some people just need to complain. — Thank you for sharing the recipe!! I will be trying this and I think me and my huzzzband will make it together. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Sage Magazine Advice - Blonde and a Brit

Don't Be Shy. Leave a Reply:

