Fiyero’s Pumpkin Puppy Treats

Around Thanksgiving, I had some leftover pumpkin puree after making a great big batch of Pumpkin Rolls. I heard somewhere that pumpkin is good for puppies, so I decided to make some delicious treats for our little pup.

P1050694

I found a recipe online, and then read all of the reviews of the recipe, where I got ideas for some tweaks. I double checked that everything was indeed safe for dogs to eat and got to work!

This is a super simple recipe– all of the ingredients are in the pantry already, and it doesn’t make a huge mess!

The number of cookies (I call them cookies) that you get depends on what size cookie cutter you use. Fiyero is a little nugget, so I used a mini cutter and got enough for him to keep a huge batch, and share some with some other dogs that we know and love.

An embarrassing side note: I put little tags on the treats that we gave away and later found out that I suck at remembering the names of dogs that aren’t my dog. I have cousins whose dog is named Abby, and I addressed to treats to Brandy– a dog that hasn’t been around in over 5 years. My other cousins have a dog named Pluto, and I thought it was Apollo. At least I had a space-theme going…

Fiyero’s Pumpkin Puppy Treatsprint this recipe

Step 1: In a food processor, using the dough blade, combine:

  • ¼ Cup Flour (whole wheat is better. All-purpose works fine.)
  • 1 egg
  • ½ Cup Pumpkin Puree (NOT Pumpkin Pie Filling)
  • 2 Tbsp Peanut Butter (Natural PB– meaning its made only of peanuts– is better. Regular works fine.)
  • ¼ Tsp Salt
  • ¼ Tsp Cinnamon
  • 1/3 Cup Oats

P1050684

Step 2: Roll out the dough on a well-floured surface. Cut into shapes using a cookie cutter.

P1050685 P1050686

Step 3: Bake at 350° until they are crisp (time will vary based on the size of the treats).

P1050687 P1050688

Don't Be Shy. Leave a Reply:

