Sausage, Egg, & Cheese Breakfast Casserole

Have you ever heard somebody who doesn’t work in an office environment say that they could never work in one? I get that. My cubicle isn’t very glamorous. Excel spreadsheets don’t bring new and exciting adventures on a daily basis. The ringer on my desk phone is irritating and I don’t know how to pick a new one.

But you know what we office drones have that people who wouldn’t dare dream of working here don’t? Potlucks. Dear Lord, there is almost nothing I love more than a good office potluck.

Around Christmas,we had a morning potluck and I made this easy-peasy breakfast casserole. It was a big hit with my co-workers! An added bonus is that the ingredients are not expensive. I think I spent $7, which was awesome because I’ve definately made potluck contributions that cost triple that at least.

And don’t even get me started on how easy it is. Let me tell you that the first time I ever made one of these was in Home Economics in 7th grade. That’s right: it’s so simple, a middle-schooler can do it.

1

This casserole is also great for holiday mornings, feeding your overnight guests, or just making sure that everybody starts their day off with something more substantial than a toaster waffle or pop-tart.

I used a 9 x 13 pan to make my casserole and it ended up being a little flatter than I would have liked, so next time I will probably double the recipe or use an 8×8 pan. I was also thinking that the flat casserole could be cut into squares and sandwiched between a toasted bagel or english muffin. Yum! My last idea, is to try and scoop the micture into a muffin tin for a grab-n-go breakfast or easier option for serving.

Breakfast Casserole

Step 1: Brown a 1 lb package of Jimmy Dean’s Maple Breakfast Sausage in a pan (you could use any flavor, but the maple is extra delicious and breakfasty in this recipe). Remove sausage from pan and drain excess grease in a paper towel-lined bowl.

image_3 (2)

Step 2: Whisk 9 eggs in a bowl. Add 1 1/2 cup of shredded cheddar cheese (*tip* buy a cheese block and grate it yourself. It’s just as easy as buying a bag of the pre-shredded cheese, but it’s cheaper. They also add questionable things to the bagged stuff), 3/4 cups milk, and some salt (a teaspoon or two should do it).

image_1 (2)

image (2) 

Step 3: Cut the crusts off of 9 slices of bread. Cut each slice into 9 cubes and mix it into the egg mixture. Then, gently fold in the sausage.

image_2 (2) image_4 (2)

image_5 (2)

Step 4: Grease a pan (8×8 for a smaller, but taller casserole, 9 x13 for a bigger, flatter one) and pour in the mixture. You can either stop here and stick in the refridgerator overnight, or bake it right away.

image_6 (2)

Step 5: Bake at 350° for 45 minutes.

image_7 (2)

image_8 (2)

3 thoughts on “Sausage, Egg, & Cheese Breakfast Casserole

Don't Be Shy. Leave a Reply:

