Italian Lamb Chops

In 2008, I got my first apartment and my mom did what so many mom’s do on such momentus occasions. She gave me her extra pots and pans, ladles, hand mixer, blankets, half of her stockpile of Costco toilet paper, and all kinds of other good things.

And apparently, that wasn’t enough for me because I stole her Betty Crocker cookbook.

Mine!

I love this cookbook. It has hundreds of easy, basic, recipes– just what a kitchen novice needs! I tend to use it as my go-to for simple stuff like pancake batter and zucchini bread– classics that don’t need an edgy twist or reimagining from a swanky cookbook by a celebrity chef.

I never thought to check out the lamb recipes in this book, which is surprising because we eat lamb every other day and it’s nice to switch it up.

This recipe was an especially nice change of pace because I usually use middle eastern recipes for lamb, so this italian lamb recipe was a totally new taste for us.

Plan ahead for this one, because it takes awhile to cook. I made it on a day that I worked from home and had it tempting me until Yuseff finally walked in the door!

Step 1: In a large bowl, mix together 1 cup olive oil, 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar, 1 small red onion, minced, 1 tsp salt, 1 tsp sugar, 1 tsp dry mustard, 1 tsp dried basil, 1/2 tsp dried oregano, 1/4 tsp pepper, and 2 cloves of crushed garlic. Throw in your lamb chops and let marinade for 5 hours. **cheat: you could also use your favorite bottled Italian dressing.

Step 2: In a shallow dish, combine 1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese, 1/4 cup flour, 1 tbsp dried parsley, 1/2 tsp salt, and 1/4 tsp onion powder.

Step 3: Remove the lamb from the marinade. Reserve the marinade. Coat lamb with the cheese and flour mixture and set aside. Save the cheese mixture, too.

Step 4: Heat 1/3 cup shortening in a large cast-iron skillet. Once it’s nice and hot, cook the lamb on each side until browned. Then drain excess shortening.

Step 5: Sprinkle the reserved cheese mixture over the chops, then pour in the leftover marinade. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat and cover.

Step 6: Let simmer for 2 1/2 hours. Turn occasionally so that it cooks evenly and you don’t dry out the top. Sprinkle with additional parmesan before serving.

Don't Be Shy. Leave a Reply:

