Meal Plan Day 8: Lemon Ziti with Chicken and Vegetables

In my post about How to Make a Meal Plan, I said that Pinterest was a good place to start. How do I know this? Because that’s what I did, and it’s where I found my inspiration for this dish!

How To: Simplify is a great blog with beautiful pictures and tons of easy-peasy recipes. Her gorgeous pasta dish made it’s way to my “Things to Cook” pinboard and I gave it a shot.

I added some chicken to her recipe, so that Yuseff would be happy and Marco would eat more than just noodles.

For the kiddos, you can serve up the components of this meal separately on the plate. When I was little, I would flip out if different types of food were touching each other, so Marco was served grilled chicken with a side of lemon noodles and a scoop of sauteed vegetables. I left the chicken out of my serving, because– unlike my boyfriend– I need a break from meat every once and awhile.

This is my plate, so there isn’t any chicken…

This meal is super simple. I cooked half a box of Ziti, and didn’t really measure anything else. Go ahead and use as much or as little of each ingredient as you like to your taste. That’s the beauty of a dish like this– it’s completely customizable. If you need measurements, go ahead and click the link above to see the original recipe.

Lemon Ziti with Chicken and Vegetables

Step 1: Boil some salted water on the stove and add noodles. Cook until they’re al dente.

Step 2: Drizzle a pan with olive oil and add minced garlic and cubed chicken breast. Saute until chicken is cooked through. Remove from pan.

Step 3: Add a little more oil to the pan and add mushrooms, red onion, and asparagus. Sprinkle with lemon juice.

Step 4: In a large bowl, drizzle cooked ziti with a little olive oil to keep it from sticking together. Mix in some parmesan cheese.

Step 5: Add sauteed veggies and chicken to the bowl and combine with the noodles.

One thought on “Meal Plan Day 8: Lemon Ziti with Chicken and Vegetables

Don't Be Shy. Leave a Reply:

