Meal Plan Day 4: Mini BBQ Meatloaf

This is one of those recipes that I pinned once on Pinterest and then totally forgot about.

I was initially drawn to it because I liked how baking the meatloaf in a muffin tin creates inherent portion control, but I was skeptical because I had never tried meatloaf before and wasn’t sure if I would like it. I mean… the stuff is called meatloaf. Ick.

But this Rachel Ray Recipe got hundreds of rave reviews, so I bravely gave it a go…

…It tasted fantastic.

I doubled the recipe and tweaked a little here and there. We ended up eating 6 of the meat-muffs for dinner, freezing another 24, and then freezing the rest of the raw meat, along with the remaining bbq mixture in a freezer bag, because I finally hit my limit on how many I could make.

Mini BBQ Meatloaf

Step 1: Start with 1.5 lbs of ground beef and 1.5 lbs of ground turkey. (I now realize that 3 lbs was maybe a little excessive for two people. But… you know… leftovers are cool… and if you have a bigger family, you’ll eat it all). Combine them in a large bowl.

Step 2: In a food processor, finely chop 2 green peppers, 2 small Spanish onions, 1 small red onion, and 4 celery stalks. If you are trying to hide veggies from your kids, or if you (like me) don’t like chunks in your food, you can go past “finely chopped” and make a puree.

Step 3: In a small bowl, lightly beat two eggs with a spash of milk.

Step 4: In another bowl, combine 2 cups of honey BBQ sauce with 2 tbsp Worcestershire sauce.

Step 5: Add the veggie puree, egg mixture, and half of the bbq mixture to the meat. Add 1 1/2 tbsp Montreal steak grill seasoning  and 2 1/2-cups plain breadcrumbs (add 1/2 cup at a time until you get the right consistency).

Step 6: Use an ice cream scoop to fill muffin tins with the meatloaf. Spoon the remaining BBQ sauce over the tops (about 1/2 tbsp of sauce for each).

Step 7: Bake at 450° for 30 minutes.

Don't Be Shy. Leave a Reply:

