Jerk Seasoned Lamb

I’ve been phenomenally lazy lately when it comes to cooking. I haven’t been making meal plans, we go to the supermarket and just get random things, and I even forget to pull meat out of the freezer before going to bed. It’s madness.

As a result, I feel like I keep posting food that looks exactly the same: brown meat on a bed of rice (probably because we bought a 10lb bag of basmati). If you feel like I’m getting monotonous– I’m sorry! I will try to return to my old ways ASAP.

The good thing that came out of this though is that I tried not once, but TWICE to prepare a meal without consulting a recipe. And not once, but TWICE it came out pretty freaking good. Yay me!

This is my first creation: Jerk Seasoned Lamb

I went into the recipe thinking that I was cooking veal (somebody didn’t label the freezer bags when he last went to the butcher and somebody else isn’t a champion meat teller-aparter), but in the end it was definately lamb.

Later in the week, I found the veal in our other freezer and invented recipe #2. So be sure to check back on Wednesday!

Jerk Seasoned Lamb

Step 1: Heat some olive oil in a pan. Salt and pepper both sides of the lamb and sprinkle both sides with jamaican jerk seasoning. I used about 1/2 tsp of jerk seasoning on each chop.

Step 2: Sear the lamb on both sides, then add 1 spoonful of minced garlic. And 1/2 of a red onion, sliced. Try to move the onions around so that they are under the meat. Continue to cook for 5 minutes.

Like… an actual spoon.

Step 3: Add 1 cup of beef broth. Bring to a boil, then lower heat, cover, and let simmer for 30 minutes.

Step 4: Remove meat from the pan. In a small ramekin combine a little cornstarch with some water and add to the pan. Let the sauce thicken. Return meat to the pan and coat in the sauce.

Don't Be Shy. Leave a Reply:

