Grandma Rosie’s Zuchinni Patties

I’ve mentioned before that my family is Italian. So, obviously that means that my Grandma is a treasure trove of delicious recipes.

One of my favorite Grandma Rosie Specialties is her Zucchini Patties. They are so good with a big plate of spaghetti and meatballs.

A few weeks ago, I opened up my e mail to a wonderful surprise. My Aunt Terry sent me the recipe out-of-the-blue so that I could give them a shot and blog about them! They turned out perfect– just as good as Grandma Rosie’s!

If you wanted, you could dip these in marinara sauce, but I like to munch on them plain. They have plenty of flavor on their own and make great a finger food or appetizer.

Grandma Rosie’s Zuchinni Patties

Step 1: In a large bowl, combine 1/2 tsp salt, 1 tbsp dried parsley, 1/2 tsp garlic powder, 1/4 tsp baking powder, 1/4 tsp black pepper, 1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese, and 3/4 cups flour.

Step 2: Shred 1 large zuchinni and combine with dry ingredients.

Step 3: Crack 1 large egg into the zuchinni mixture and combine until you get a batter.

Step 4: Heat olive oil in a large pan over medium heat. Drop spoonfuls of the zuchinni batter into the pan and cook on each side until browned and slightly crispy.

Step 5: Lay patties on a paper towl to drain any excess oil. Sprinkle with more grated parmesan before serving.

12 thoughts on “Grandma Rosie’s Zuchinni Patties

  1. Nice Sar, they look perfect! I’ve been making this every weekend this summer, they are in high demand and everyone is taking the recipe to make themselves. Now I can just forward your blog = )
    Fresh parsley, and lots of it, takes it to another yummy level. ♥

  2. sara, i am sooo proud of you — these are so good. i am happy to see you have mastered making them in just one try. i love when we are handed down the special traditions and customs and foods from our mothers before us. the wedding soup has made it’s way to you and know these. next would be a trip to girard, ohio to learn from uncle joe capogreco how to make in a crock the marinated eggplant and green tomatoes. it would be a travesty to let this one get away from us. in fact, if we make arrangements to do so, i am
    sure there would be a bus load of relatives who would also like to have the know how.

  3. Pingback: How To: Prep Ahead Freezer Ideas « By the (cook)Book

    • Hi there! I’ve never measured it out, but Google said that 1 medium zucchini gives you 2/3 cups, so I’d say at least a nice heaping cup should do it for this recipe. Luckily, you don’t have to be overly precise with this recipe… Less zucchini will make it a little more pancakey though!

  4. How many cups of zucchini approximately? I have this large crazy mega zucchini from my home garden but I think I could make this recipe and five zucchini breads with it, haha. Any guidance would be appreciated 🙂

    • LOL! It’s the zucchini that keeps on giving! I’d say a heaping cup should do the trick. The recipe still works even if you have a little more or less… the less zucchini, the more “pancake-y” they are, more zucchini makes the vegetable stand out more, you just want to make sure there is still enough batter to bind it! My grandma makes these for every family dinner, and I swear they’re a little different every time, but always delicious!

Don't Be Shy. Leave a Reply:

