Clam Chowderish Soup– South Beach Phase 1 Lunch

In case you were wondering (and even if you weren’t), I like to use the auto-publish feature on WordPress to schedule posts in the future. So, when I sit down to blog, I like to write anywhere from 2-5 posts at once, schedule them for a few weeks out, and then take a nice, long break.

So, by the time you read this, Yuseff and I will have long abandoned the South Beach Diet. We basically did one 5 day stint on Phase 1 and then a couple of weeks later tried it again and lasted 6 days. What did I learn? When my pants get snug, all I have to do is give up carbs and sugar for a work-week and they’ll button right up again. Cool. Mission Accomplished.

Also, as I get older, if my weight ever becomes a legitimate problem, I’m screwed. Because I have no self-control.

Even though we didn’t finish the diet– or even the first phase of the diet– I’m still going to keep posting recipes that we made because they are tasty and it doesn’t hurt to have healthy recipes in your arsenal.

I made this soup during the first really hot weekend that we had this summer. As awful as it was to stand in a hot kitchen over a boiling pot, I have to say that the end result was satisfying.

I modified a recipe for Fish Chowder from South Beach Diet Supercharged to make this clam chowder. But I don’t like calling it that. Clam chowder is by far my favorite soup and if I went to a restaurant and they brought me this soup, I would be livid. There’s no potatoes and it’s made with 1% milk instead of heavy cream. There’s also some extra veggies in the mix. So… it’s like Clam Chowder and this Clam Chowderish Soup are distant cousins.

But please don’t think I’m talking you out of giving this recipe a try! It was delicious and made enough for 5 lunch sized-portions that did not go to waste. I’m not even a big soup-fan and I loved it.

Clam Chowderish Soup

Step 1: Heat 1 tbsp olive oil in a medium-large pot. Add 1 small diced onion, 3 diced celery stalks, an 3 oz diced canadian bacon (I used 12 thin slices), and 1/4 tsp dried thyme. Saute until veggies are translucent and bacon begins to crisp up (*note* it won’t get as crispy as real bacon).

Step 2:  Add 8 oz bottle of clam juice, 1/2 cup of water, 1 3/4 cups 1% milk,  2 cans of clams packed in juice (do not drain. dump the juice in there, too), and 1 small diced zuchinni.

I realize that there’s three cans there, but you only need two. If you want extra clams, go ahead and add a third one, but drain the juice from any extra cans.

Step 3: Let simmer 15-20 minutes until the zucchini becomes tender and the clams are cooked. Season with Salt and Pepper to taste.

One thought on “Clam Chowderish Soup– South Beach Phase 1 Lunch

  1. Skype has launched its online-based customer beta for the world, after establishing
    it broadly from the United states and You.K. previous this month.
    Skype for Online also now works with Chromebook and Linux for immediate online
    messaging conversation (no video and voice however, those need a plug-in installment).

    The expansion of your beta provides help for a longer listing of dialects to
    assist strengthen that worldwide usability

Don't Be Shy. Leave a Reply:

