Curried Shrimp

You know what I hate about trying new recipes with special ingredients?

Okay. I’ll tell you. You end up buying a jar/bag/box/package of whatever that ingredient is and then it sits around waiting for the next time you make that dish.

For example. About 18 months ago, I bought 1 gram of saffron (which–by the way– cost $15) to make Zuchinni Saffron Couscous. And the only time I ever use it is when I make Zuchinni Saffron Couscous.  I once had to make my own improvised version of garam masala to make Tandoori Chicken, then later found it in a store and bought it, but have not yet come across it in a recipe, so it sits–unopened– in the pantry. I’ve had similar issues with wasabi, almond butter, falafel mix, and capers, Gah! So annoying.

I’m not saying that that there aren’t other uses for these ingredients, I’m just saying that I haven’t found my way to them, yet. So, I love when I buy an ingredient and it suddenly becomes a staple. Like curry.

We bought curry powder to make Jamaican Curry Chicken, then used it again to make Beef Curry Vindaloo, and now again to make Curried Shrimp.

I’m especially pleased because while each of these recipes uses curry powder and has that great aromatic flavor, it’s not like I keep making the same recipe and just swap around the meat. Each dish has been unique.

Now all I need to do is find a use for the leftover coconut milk…

Curried Shrimpprint this recipe

adapted from: foodnetwork.com

Step 1: Melt 1 tbsp butter in a pan. Once the pan is hot, add shrimp and saute until they turn pink and are cooked through.

Step 2: Remove shrimp and set aside. Add another tbsp of butter and 1/2 yellow onion, diced. Saute until onions become soft.

Step 3: Add 2 tsp kosher salt, 1 tsp black pepper, 1 tbsp hot curry powder, 1 tsp minced garlic, and 1 1/2 tsp ginger powder. Combine with onions and simmer until onions are translucent.

Step 4: Add 1/2 to 2/3 of one (14 oz) can of coconut milk (depending on how “soupy” you want it to be). Simmer on lowered heat for 10 minutes.

Step 5: Add the shrimp back to the pan with 1 bunch of green onions, sliced into little rings, 1/2 bunch of fresh cilantro leaves, and 2 tbsp lime juice. Stir to combine.  

Serve over Rice

**Notes:

  1. I made enough shrimp for 2 people (about 15 pieces), but this recipe makes enough curry sauce for 4 servings. You can either cut the other ingredients in half, or do what we did and reserve the remaining sauce to use later. Store in the freezer if you won’t use it right away.
  2. Don’t be intimidated by the use of hot curry powder versus sweet. The coconut milk tempers it out. If you’re looking for a spicy dish, add some red pepper.

 

One thought on “Curried Shrimp

  1. Pingback: Coconut Milk Pound Cake « By the (cook)Book

Don't Be Shy. Leave a Reply:

