Eggless Chocolate-Chip Cookie Dough

Apparently, the most important thing a chef does in the kitchen is taste-test their food as they’re cooking it. I read this in food-network magazine, I saw it on a food-network tv show, I’m fairly certain that’s how Paula Deen ended up being diabetic, and every time I cook, Yuseff asks me why I never taste my food.

My method is really to just cook something, then feed it to other people and guage their reaction before taking a bite of my own. Let them be the guinea pigs.

The exceptions to this are batters and doughs. I will lick the bowl clean when I make muffins, cupcakes, pancakes, cheesecakes, pumpkin rolls, and cookies. And in case you think it’s limited to the sweet stuff, it’s not. I even nibble on pizza dough, pie dough, pasta dough, bread dough, and took a little lick of the batter that I used for my beer-battered tilapia. It’s a legit problem.

So, obviously, I don’t subscribe to the raw-eggs-will-make-you-die school of thought. And if I’m wrong, then dying with my face in a bowl of pancake batter sounds okay to me. But that’s beside the point. The point is: I found an egg-free cookie dough recipe by Stef over at The Cupcake Project. And it changed my life.

We scooped it out to eat with vanilla ice cream, but I went back to eat some more straight out of the bowl!

Eggless Cookie Dough

Mix together 1 cup flour, 1/4 tsp salt, 6 tbsp melted butter, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/4 cup granulated sugar, 1 tbsp vanilla extract, 2 tbsp milk, 1/4 cup mini chocolate chips. Refrigerate it to stiffen it.

2 thoughts on “Eggless Chocolate-Chip Cookie Dough

  1. Ooooh my goodness. I need these, like, now!
    Also, “My method is really to just cook something, then feed it to other people and guage their reaction before taking a bite of my own.” I like your method!
    ~Amy

  2. Pingback: Java Jive | lace and lemons

Don't Be Shy. Leave a Reply:

