Parmesan Tilapia and Simple Risotto

Every time I make Tilapia I am amazed at how fast, easy, and tasty it turns out. It’s such a good candidate for Wedneasday dinners when I’m trying to cram in the latest episodes of Glee and New Girl and cook before Yuseff comes home.

My original plan for last Wednesday night was to make Tilapia in a White Wine Sauce with Capers with Lemon Parmesan Risotto. But, then I figured that if I found a new recipe, I’d have material for a new post, so I consulted my trusty collection of The Costco Way Cookbooks and found quite a few recipes for tilapia, but only one that I had all of the ingredients for: Parmesan Crusted Tilapa. With that being said, I felt that the Lemon Parmesan Risotto would be too much cheese, so I just prepared it simply using the recipe on the back of the box of arborio rice.

Parmesan Crusted Tilapia

Step 1: Soften 2 tbsp butter in the microwave. 10-15 seconds ought to do it. You don’t want it to melt, but it should smoosh easily with a fork. Add 1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese, 1 1/2 tbsp mayonaise, and 1 tbsp lemon juice. Combine well.

Smoosh.

Step 2: Season the cheese mixture with a pinch of each: dried basil, ground black pepper, celery seed, and minced onion (dried).

Step 3: Preheat the broiler on your oven and prepare you rack by setting it on the top rung. Line a jelly roll pan with aluminum foil and coat with cooking spray. Pat two tilapia filets dry with a paper towel and lay them on the prepared pan. Season with salt on both sides and broil for 3 minutes.

Step 4: Flip the filets over and broil for another 2 minutes. Remove from oven and coat with the parmesan mixture. Return to the oven and broil for another 3 minutes– until the crust turns golden brown.

Simple Risotto

Step 1: Mince 1/2 small onion and saute in 1 tbsp butter and 1 tbsp olive oil. I was out of onions so I used 1 tbsp dried minced onion. Add 1/2 cup arborio rice and stir to combine with the onion, butter, and oil. Let cook for 1 minute.

Step 2: Add 1/2 cup white wine and let simmer until the wine reduces by half. Pour in 1/2 cup of chicken broth; it should cover the rice. Bring to a boil then cover and reduce heat until the liquid is absorbed.

Step 3: Add another 1/2 cup of broth and cover until absorbed by the rice. Repeat until you’ve added a total of 1 1/2 to 2 cups chicken broth and rice is soft and cooked through. Salt and pepper to taste.

One thought on “Parmesan Tilapia and Simple Risotto

  1. Sara, i have tilapia in the freezer and i would like to bring it to your house, and you cook for me this dinner. i love love love risotto too. we’ll play rummikub afterwards. let me know. mom

Don't Be Shy. Leave a Reply:

