Perfect Bruschetta

A big part of why I like to cook for myself is that I’m sort-of a picky eater. I’m not picky in the respect that I have a small culinary comfort zone (obviously)– I like trying different ethnic cuisines and flavors– but I am picky in that certain things have to be done just so for me to like them.

For example, a lot of the middle eastern dishes that I cook call for hot curry powder and I will substitute mild or sweet. Anytime I come across cayenne pepper or red pepper flakes in a recipe, I cut the measurement in half and throw in something mild like paprika for the other half. I just don’t like super spicy food.

I also have a really tortured relationship with tomatoes, which is why when I’m ordering a sandwich or salad at a retaurant I ask the server to kindly  leave them off. You’ll never catch me ordering a pasta dish with marinara, because there’s always tomato chunks. And I just say “no” when it comes to salsa dip at a party.

What’s my deal with tomatoes? 99% of the time they have a texture that just doesn’t bode well with me. I hate that mushy feeling and the taste of it.

So, it may surprise you that I’m going to share a recipe for bruschetta with you, since it’s really just choppd up tomatoes. But this recipe is awesome for the tomata-hata in your life. By choosing the firmest tomatoes at the supermarket and scraping out the seeds and juice from the inside, the texture is perfect and the flavors are sure to please!

Perfect Bruschetta

Step 1: Boil some water on the stove. Once it comes to a rolling boil, remove the water from heat and drop in 10 Roma Tomatoes. Drain after 30-45 seconds. (if you leave them in too long then they will be super mushy and not good at all)

Step 2: Peel the skin off of the tomatos. You can use a paring knife, but it should come of easily just by pulling. Cut each tomato in half and clean out the seeds, hull, and juices. Drain on a paper towel.

Step 3: Chop the tomato flesh into cubes. In a small ramekin, combine 1 tbsp olive oil, 1 heaping tsp minced garlic, and 1 tsp balsamic vinegar. Pour the mixture onto the tomatoes and use a wooden spoon to gently combine. chop 6-8 fresh basil leaves (or use a mixture of fresh basil, parsley, and oregano) and add to the bruschetta. Salt and Pepper to taste.

serve over toasted baguette slices

 

One thought on “Perfect Bruschetta

Don't Be Shy. Leave a Reply:

