Greek Roasted Lamb and Simple Couscous

So, I guess it’s been a minute since I’ve cooked anything notable for dinner. It’s weird, because we have a lifetime supply of meat in our freezer, so I’m not so sure what my excuse is– it’s definately not for lack of food. 

I’m not really complaining though, because– as I’ve noted before— I don’t always want to play chef. Since, we had a nice long weekend (and by default, short work-week) for Easter, I guess we were in the mood to take it easy.

I did totally cook boiled eggs, though. That’s a given.

Last night, I tapped into our treasure trove of meat and made Greek Roasted Lamb. I used a recipe that I adapted from lambrecipes.org. Let that sink in for a minute. There is a dot-org out there devoted to cooking lamb. I served it with a simple couscous and some sauteed vegetables.

Greek Roasted Lamb

Step 1: Lay 2 cuts of lamb in a glass casserole dish. Generously season with salt and pepper on both sides and use the back of a spoon to push the grains into meat. Then put 1/2 tsp of minced garlic on each cut and use the spoon to spread it out.

Step 2: Melt 1 tbsp of butter in the microwave and combine it with 1 tbsp lemon juice. Brush the mixture over the lamb (use all of it).

Step 3: Roughly chop 1/2 of a red onion and arrange it in the dish with the lamb. Add 1/4 cup white wine (I use sauvignon blanc) and 2 tbsp water to the dish. Cover and bake at 375° for about 1 hour. Check periodically for desired doneness.

Simple Couscous:

Step 1: Bring 1 cup of beef broth and 2 tsp butter to a boil in a small saucepan.

Step 2: Stir in 3/4 cup dry couscous and remove from heat. Cover and let sit for 5 minutes. Fluff with a fork.

One thought on “Greek Roasted Lamb and Simple Couscous

  1. Pingback: Rosemary Lamb Chops with Mushroom and Olive Couscous « By the (cook)Book

Don't Be Shy. Leave a Reply:

