Baked Potato Chips

So, I realize that some of the recipes that I post here are simplistic no-brainers. But you know what? When I started this blog I had to use a cookbook to make a baked potato (spoiler alert: You put a raw potato in the oven. And then later on, you take it out. And then you eat it.)– but now I know; so thanks, Betty Crocker, for not being too snobby to publish a recipe for a baked potato.

I’m not delusional; I know I’m not blogging about cutting-edge, blow-your-freaking-mind, game-altering-advancements-in-the-science-of-cooking-a-meal over here.

But, when I come up with something on my own, and it not only turns out edible, but also delicious, I want to share it and hope that maybe I inspire you to try something that you hadn’t before. That’s why I started this blog in the first place.

You heard me. I said: DELICIOUS.

So, dearest readers, sorry if I’m telling you about cooking something that you already know how to cook. However, I’m sure that someday, somewhere, there is going to be a girl who sits down at her computer to Google: How do I make baked potato chips? And I hope she ends up here. With me.

Dear girl who doesn’t know how to make a potato chip: You’re among friends. Er… at least one.

Baked Potato Chips

Step 1: Thinly slice 3 small potatos into little rounds. Use a steady hand and go for even thickness. Lay them out on a paper towel and to dry them out.

Step 2: Melt 2 tbsp butter in a ramekin and generously brush the melted butter onto a large baking sheet.

Step 3: Sprinkle the potato slices with kosher salt and lay–salted side down– on the sheet in one layer. Do not overlap potatoes. Brush butter over the potatoes and sprinkle the tops with more kosher salt.

Step 4: Position your oven rack on the highest rung and bake the potato chips for 10-15 minutes at 425º until they start to brown and crisp up. Remove from oven and turn each chip over. Taste one and add more salt if desired. Bake on the other side for another 10-15 minutes.

Serve Hot

Don't Be Shy. Leave a Reply:

