Fish Fry at Holy Child Catholic School

Here’s something you don’t hear everyday: I love Lent.

I do. I really, really do. First of all, it starts off with Ash Wednesday which I find to be wonderally dramatic and symbolic. Ash Wednesday Masses and Christmas Eve Midnight Masses are probably two of my favorite things, ever.

Remember you are dust, and to dust you will return

Secondly, I love the introspective moments leading up to Ash Wednesday when I try to figure out what to give up for Lent. This girl never goes with old stand-bys like chocolate or soda. I pick something that I think will be hard for me to do and will help change a bad habit even after Easter comes and goes. For example, last year I gave up going to restaurants during lunch breaks because I knew I was doing it out of laziness and I was spending an obscene amount of money on the habit. This year, I gave up Facebook because I spend too much time creeping on practical strangers’ lives while ignoring those people in the same room with me (you know… like my family and actual friends).

Third– and this is the REALLY big one. Lent is a Fried Fish Feeding Frenzy. Oh yeah– I even busted out the alliteration on that one. I love fried fish sandwiches smothered in tarter sauce. Hands down the most delicious thing I’ve ever eaten. I’ve even considered becoming the kind of Catholic that doesn’t eat meat on any Fridays just so I’d have an excuse to eat fried fish once a week.

Last week we went to the Fish Fry at Holy Child Catholic School in Bridgeville. I thought it was important that we attend their fundraiser to show our support.

If you live in the Pittsburgh area (especially in the southern suburbs), I recomend going to Holy Child @  220 Station Street, Bridgeville between 4 and 7 PM to get dinner during the Fridays of Lent. It’s $8.50 for an adult meal, $5 for the kiddos, and $6.50 if you want a sandwich without any sides. You can even call ahead and place an order ( 412-221-4720)!

What to dig into first?

Holy humongous sandwich! I’m getting a kid’s meal next time!

Marco put fries on his sandwich like a real Pittsburger!

2 thoughts on “Fish Fry at Holy Child Catholic School

  1. OMG that sandwich looks so good. I can’t find good fish fry around this stupid state (this is katrina, btw). Also, would you be down with us linking to your blog for this monday’s mocha break? I want to spread the word about your awesomeness.

Don't Be Shy. Leave a Reply:

