Beef Curry Vindaloo

So, we went to Costco over the weekend and bought three totally unncessessary pounds of stewing beef (1/2 lb would have been plenty for me to make my crock pot beef bourguignon).

Not wanting to eat beef stew for three weeks, I googled “what can I make with stewing beef that isn’t beef stew?” And I got a few hits for Beef Curry Vindaloo.

That in turn made me start singing this verse from Rent’s La Vie Boheme:   to leather to [edited for those who are easily offended]/to curry vindaloo/to huevos rancheros/ and Maya Angelou.        (oh and p.s. I totally know every word to this song. Like a darn good theatre geek should)

Then I listed to the entire Rent Soundtrack. It took me right back to my 17th birthday trip to NYC with my mommy when I saw this show for the first time, and the time I saw it again with my sister and we met Robin DeJesus (he starred in a barely known movie that she and I love), and of course, all the times my college roommate and I put on two-woman-performances of Rent in our dorm room (I always had to play the boys, because I can’t sing and their parts were easier to fake).

So, with all that nostalgia coursing through me, there was no way I was not making curry vindaloo for dinner. And yes, I did listen to La Vie Boheme and shimmy around the kitchen while I cooked.

Also– I didn’t want to have to to go to the grocery store to pick up any missing ingredients, so I frankenstined several of the recipes together– so I’m not sure how “authentic” this recipe is (meaning, if you go to India and eat this, it might be compeltely different– I don’t know, I’ve never had it before). All I know is that it was delicious.

Beef Curry Vindalooprint this recipe

Step 1 : Slice half of an onion and place in a large bowl. Add 3 tbsp white wine vinegar, 1 1/2 tbsp lemon juice, 1/2 tsp ginger powder, 2 tsp minced garlic, and 1 tbsp curry powder. *NOTE* I used 3 tsp sweet curry powder and 1 tsp hot curry powder because I don’t like spicy food but wanted a little kick. Adjust these portions to your taste. If you like spicy food, just use a whole tbsp of the hot curry powder. Mix these together with 1 lb of stewing beef cubes. Let marinate for one hour.

Step 2: Add a little vegetable oil to the bottom of a pan and add 1/4 tsp ground cloves and 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon. Heat until the oil is hot and fragrant.

Step 3: Add the meat and marinade to the pan and bring to a boil, then add salt and pepper to taste, 1-2 potatoes (I used one, but could have used more) peeled and diced, and 3-4 dried bay leaves. You can also slice the remaining 1/2 of the onion and add it here as well (I didn’t, but later wished I had). Lower the heat and let simmer until the meat is tender– About 30 minutes.

I decided to pick the onions out from the marinade and get them going before adding the beef

Serve with boiled Basmanti Rice

One thought on “Beef Curry Vindaloo

  1. Pingback: Curried Shrimp « By the (cook)Book

Don't Be Shy. Leave a Reply:

