Cooking Against My Will: Sara’s Begrudging Burgers

Yuseff pointed out to me last night that I haven’t updated my blog in over a week. But it wasn’t so much of a hey-I-really-miss-reading-your-delightful-posts so much as it was a I’m-really-hungry-I-wish-you-would-cook-something.

Here’s a secret. Sometimes, I really, really, really,hate cooking. Like– despise it with every fiber of my being. Usually, this happens when I’m not hungry, but feel obligated to feed other people. And I haven’t been hungry for two weeks, but am still responsible for feeding Yuseff and Marco. And I kind of wished that they would be a little less hungry.

So in any event–I haven’t made anything worthy of a blog post in a while– I got away with pizza, leftover/frozen soup, chicken patties, stuff like that. I did make these burgers a few nights ago and Yuseff made some fresh french fries. I thought, my hands are dirty, so what the hey–let’s take a few pictures!

I had never made burgers before and didn’t really know how to season them, so I kind of used some of the same seasonings as my meatballs.

In the off chance that anybody out there has been missing my posts, don’t worry– I planned two weeks worth of meals and we’re going to Costco tomorrow, so there’s some good stuff coming.

Sara’s Begrudging Burgers

Step 1: Combine  1lb of ground chuck with 1/2 onion (diced), 1/2 tbsp salt, fresh cracked pepper (10-15 turns of the mill), 1 tsp parsley, and 1 1/2 tsp garlic powder.

Step 2: Form six even patties and set aside. (I only needed three burgers, so I separated the other three with wax paper and put them in the freezer.) Heat a small amount of vegetable oil in a pan. Once it’s nice and hot, drop your burgers in and cook on each side to desired doneness.

Step 3: Remove from oil and place on a paper-towel-lined plate. Cover with cheese and place a lid over the burgers to trap the heat and help the cheese melt.

Top with your favorite condiments!

And don’t forget fries!!

 

4 thoughts on “Cooking Against My Will: Sara’s Begrudging Burgers

  1. Pingback: Greek Roasted Lamb and Couscous « By the (cook)Book

  2. Pingback: How To: Prep Ahead Freezer Ideas « By the (cook)Book

  3. Pingback: How To: Make a Meal Plan « By the (cook)Book

Don't Be Shy. Leave a Reply:

