Chicken Enchilada Soup

A few weeks ago, I got a really peculiar text message from my sister– a list of food items.

Then she sent some instructions. Aha! It was a recipe! She told me that it a recipe from Hungry Girl’s 300 Under 300 Cookbook. (That’s 300 recipes with fewer than 300 calories each). She sent me a picture that looked so tempting, I just knew that Yuseff and I would have to try it out! We made it on Saturday night and ate it while we curled up on the couch to watch a movie together. It’s super delicious and super healthy– the recipe says it’s only about 100 calories per cup.

When I made it for us, I didn’t follow the recipe exactly (I mean… do I ever?). For example, her recipe called for 10 oz of chicken. I used a whole pound, because that’s more logical– who sells chicken in 10 oz increments?. We also added salt and pepper, because we’re addicts.  So, with that being said, my recipe might not be exactly 100 calories/per cup. But I think we can agree that it’s healthier (and less caloric) than say…  that cinnamon bun that I got out of the vending machine on Friday.

Chicken Enchilada Soup

Step 1: In a pot, bring 3 cups fat-free chicken broth, 1 small chopped onion, and 1 cup diced celery to a simmer.

Step 2: Add 15 oz canned pumpkin and 42 oz green enchilada sauce. Bring to a boil.

Step 3: Add 1 lb chicken (boiled in salted water and shredded) and 1 cup frozen yellow corn. Bring back to a boil, then reduce heat and let simmer for 40 minutes.

Step 4: Add salt and pepper to taste.

Serve with tortilla chips and cheddar cheese.

Don't Be Shy. Leave a Reply:

