Super Bowl Snack: Buffalo Cupcakes with Blue Cheese Buttercream

On Sunday, I hosted my first ever Super Bowl Party! Well– maybe Yuseff hosted it, because all the guests were his friends. But, I still cleaned the bathroom and helped cook, so I’m going to go ahead and declare myself a co-host in the festivities.

Which leads me to the the important lesson that I learned: Know Your Audience.

That is pretty much Freshman Writing 101. When you are writing a paper, essay, or story (or even preparing a presentation), you have to keep in mind the person who will be reading.

And now I know that when you cook, you have to keep your eaters in mind.

I guess I severely over-estimated how “adventerous” people are willing to get with their Super Bowl munchies. I found this recipe via Pinterest on an awesome blog called The Cupcake Project. I saw it and thought: How unique! How Festive! How Out-of-the-Box! And I figured that they would be the perfect combination of savory and sweet. I was right!

Super Bowl Snack: Buffalo Cupcakes with Blue Cheese Buttercream

After I popped the cupcakes in the oven, I got busy licking the batter off of the spoon– it was delicious. I mixed up the icing and scooped a little out to taste. Then I had to hide the bowl from myself to be sure I didn’t eat any more before the cupcakes were ready to be frosted. When Yuseff and I split one to sample, we agreed that this recipe was a winner! 

I purposefully prepared these as mini cupcakes so that people could sample them without having it be a huge commitment if they didn’t like it. But nobody really even touched them. So, I probably won’t ever make them again. They aren’t the sort of thing that you make without an occasion. And I don’t know what occasion other than the Super Bowl will really warrant a Buffalo Cupcake.

To prepare these as mini cupcakes, follow the recipe from The Cupcake Project and divide the batter among 24 mini muffin cups. Bake for 15 minutes (rather than 20). Instead of topping with a whole chicken wing, I topped these with a pinch of shredded buffalo chicken.

So, what do you think? Would you have tried one of these cupcakes? Do you think you’d have liked them?

8 thoughts on “Super Bowl Snack: Buffalo Cupcakes with Blue Cheese Buttercream

  1. Pingback: Here we go again: Spicy Jalepeno Boats « By the (cook)Book

    • I do. They have similar consistencies. If I were you I’d add the powdered sugar slowly to make sure it doesn’t get too sweet, and the icing is the right consistency! Are you making these cupcakes? Or trying feta icing on something else?

      Sent from my iPhone

      • I was thinking of trying these cupcakes – maybe just a half batch for the first try. I’m a big fan of buffalo chicken, but not of blue cheese.

Don't Be Shy. Leave a Reply:

