Mama’s Sloppy Joe Sandwiches

When I was a teenager, I liked to randomly decide to change a habit and see how long I could stick with it. For example, I drank Soy Milk instead of Dairy Milk for 6 months, until my mom quit buying it because it was so expensive and I went through it too fast (I never liked milk, but soy milk was really tasty so I drank it all the time). I went 5 years without using ice cubes. I stopped drinking soda for a solid 4 years and only recently started drinking it more than once a month. On a similar note, I started saying “soda” instead of the more common (for Pittsburgh, anyway) “pop.” I also stopped dotting my i’s and j’s and 10 years later, I still don’t; I also still don’t punctuate words like e mail, Mr Smith, Main St, etc; nor do I capitalize my name (or some other proper nouns) when writing informally (so basically, unless it’s on an academic paper or application of some kind, I write “sara tedde” from “pittsburgh, pa” gratuated from “st vincent college” in “may”). That last bit is all pretty bizarre considering that I am an English major and grammar/punctuation fiend.

Needless to say– my teenage rebellions were awkward.

So one day, I woke up and decided that I was going to be a vegetarian. I didn’t have any political or moral stance on it. I was just bored and thought: hey, what’s more fun than not eating meat? When I told my mom that I was going to be a vegetarian, she said: Oh, well I was going to make Sloppy Joe’s for dinner. Game. Over. If being a vegetarian meant no more Sloppy Joe’s, then forget about it. That vegetarianism lasted less than an hour.

Needless to say, my favorite meal is my Mom’s Sloppy Joe’s with a side of Kraft Mac ‘n’ Cheese. This is one time that I will gladly take the boxed stuff over gourmet, it just feels so right!

Mama’s Sloppy Joe Sandwichesprint this recipe

Step 1: Brown 1 lb of Ground Turkey in a pan

Step 2: Add 1 Cup Heinz Ketchup, 2 Tbsp Brown Sugar, 1 Tbsp Yellow Mustard, and 1 1/2 Tbsp Worcestershire Sauce. Stir until everything is combined and the meat is coated. Adjust heat to low. Cover and let simmer for 15 minutes.

 

Serve on a Bun with a side of Mac ‘n’ Cheese

One thought on “Mama’s Sloppy Joe Sandwiches

  1. I enjoyed reading about your teenage phases. I think we all went through that stage somehow. I looove sloppy joes. I could totally be a vegetarian if it weren’t for sloppy joes and big macs. And you are sooo right, the perfect side dish for a sloppy joe is definitely mac and cheese 🙂

Don't Be Shy. Leave a Reply:

