Sprucing Up: Hiding an Exposed Box Spring

Today, I’m feeling a little bit like a domestic genius. Maybe I am. Or maybe a billion other people are already doing this and I’m the last one to think of this trick…

Either way, I’m going to hope that you haven’t thought of it yet and share!

When I was 14 years old, I got an oak sleigh bed. The box spring drops down into the frame and the mattress goes on top. There are wooden boards that run along the sides of the frame, so bed skirts are kind of out of the question. So– for the past 10 years I’ve had an exposed box spring. It’s not a big deal when the bed is made and the comforter covers it up, but 95% of the time, the bed is unmade and the room looks incomplete.

Until now…

Last night I was stripping the bed to put on the new sheets that we got (since my old bedding was “too girly” for some people). Suddenly I had the bright idea to use to old fitted sheet to cover up the box spring. Et viola!

Obviously, the orange sheet doesn’t really go with the green one, but now that I see that it worked and looks way better, I can pick up a more complimentary fitted sheet the next time we’re out-and-about!

Don't Be Shy. Leave a Reply:

