A Hometown Staple: Buffalo Chicken Ranch Pizza

I got my first job when I was 17. It was pretty much the greatest job ever, which is why I stuck around for 4 years.

Where was this Holy Grail of after-school employment? The Rennerdale Corner Store, known locally as “The Little Store.”

While the RCS does have items for sale– such milk, eggs, and candy– it’s actually a pizza shop offering take-out, eat-in, or delivery.

For fun– and because I’m feeling nostalgic– here are some pictures of the good times that we (we= my sister and me, because she worked there too) had working there with other neighborhood kids.

What’s the hottest (no pun intended) item on the menu? The Buffalo Chicken Ranch Pizza. I probably scribbled “Lg BCR” onto an order pad a million and one times while I worked there. And I probably ate half a million of those pizzas. Because they are so good.

A couple of weeks ago, I made some pizza dough to make a standard Pepperoni Pizza and I posted the perfectly stretched pie to Facebook. My friend Linsey– a fan of the BCR– commented and asked if I was making one. I instantly got a craving and put on the menu for this week.

But enough chit-chat and memory-lane-ing… Here’s what you came for:

Buffalo Chicken Ranch Pizza

Step 1: Start with pizza dough. You can use a store bought dough, my recipe for a yeast-free dough, or a traditional homemade dough (this is what I used, and a post/recipe will come for it eventually)

Step 2: Melt 2 Tbsp Butter in the microwave and combine it with 1/4 Cup Frank’s Red Hot Sauce. Spread the sauce on the pizza.

Step 3: Cut 1 lb Chicken Breast into cubes and season with salt and pepper. Cook the chicken until it’s no longer raw in the middle. Sprinkle the chicken over the pizza. I didn’t use all of the chicken, but use your best judgement.

Step 4: Cover with pizza cheese. Bake at 420° for 15-20 minutes, depending on how crisp you like your pizza.

Step 5: Top with ranch dressing. Trust me. Trust all of us over here in Southwestern Pennsylvania. Do it. Yuseff refused to trust me, which is why half of our pizza down there is naked. I do believe i convinced him to dip it in Blue Cheese Dressing, but it’s not the same.

Also– I recommend using a squeeze bottle to avoid globbing the dressing everywhere. It will look much nicer…

If you suddenly have a hankering for a BCR, but don’t want to go the homemade route, give them a call down at the Corner Store and order one up!

Don't Be Shy. Leave a Reply:

