Leg of Lamb with an Olive Crust

Every year, Costco releases a free (for warehouse members) cookbook during Thanksgiving weekend. My mom gets them every year and gives them to me on Christmas. Back in September, I shared one of my favorite recipes from this collection– honey ginger salmon— and I’m excited to share another one today!

So… once again… Yuseff and I had lamb for dinner. I’m starting to feel like we eat lamb more than the average American family. But, in our defense, sometimes we end up with a bigger cut than we needed and throw the extra in the freezer to use during the weeks when we don’t feel like grocery shopping. And this was one of those weeks.

I’ve already shared our recipes for Wasabi-Crusted Lamb, Rosemary Lamb, and Morroccan Lamb. The other night, while I was getting ready to mix up a marinade, I had every intention of using one of these tried-and-true favorites. Then, I decided to do a quick scan of my The Costco Way cookbooks to see if I could find something new. I came across this recipe in Smart Cooking the Costco Way and was thrilled to see that I already had all of the ingredients in the pantry!

My version is slightly different from the original– I used black olives because we have a lifetime supply from–you guessed it– Costco. The recipe calls for Greek or Kalamata Olives, so feel free to use any kind of olive that you like best.

Leg of Lamb with an Olive Crustprint recipe

Step 1: Put 1/2 Cup Black Olives in a small blender and pulse lightly to chop.

Step 2: Add 1 Tsp Minced Garlic, 1/2 Tsp Freshly Ground Black Pepper, 1 Tbsp Savory, 1 Tbsp Lemon Zest, 1 Tbsp Red Wine Vinegar, and 1 Tbsp Olive Oil. Pulse until you get a paste. This is called Tapenade.

Step 3: Place your Boneless Leg of Lamb (I used a 1 lb cut) on a piece of saran wrap, and rub the Tapenade all over it. Wrap tightly and refrigerate overnight.

Step 4: Let your lamb rest on the kitchen counter for 1-2 hours before cooking to let it come back to room temperature. Heat a cast iron pan, drizzled with olive oil, on the stove until it is hot. Sear both sides of the lamb.

Step 5: Transfer the cast iron pan into a 400° oven and cook to desired doneness. Slice and serve.

Serve with a side of Zuchinni Saffron Cous-Cous

This was a very delicious recipe and it will definately be added to our lamb-rotation. I think it’s weird that we are at the point where we have a lamb rotation, but it is what it is!

Don't Be Shy. Leave a Reply:

