Wednesday Night Wine Flight: CLO Cabaret Theater

I was driving to work one day (p.s. I work in downtown Pittsburgh), and the morning show on the radio was asking people to call in if they live in the area, but have never been downtown. And there were a whole bunch of people who have lived in the Pittsburgh suburbs for decades, but never made the trip through the tunnels into the city. It totally blew my mind.

Pittsburgh kind of gets bullied by people who are from or have been to big cities like New York, Chicago, or Philadelphia– and I get it, because I’ve been to those cities and there is definately something special about getting Frozen Yogurt at midnight and riding the metro. BUT– if you stop whining about what we don’t have and take a good look at what Pittsburgh has to offer, you will not be disappointed.

For example: My cousin Amanda and I go see just about every musical that shows up in theatre square. We just saw Memphis last week and are planning to see Spring Awakening and Billy Elliot by the end of this month. One day, we were flipping through the playbill and noticed that the Pittsburgh Cultural Trust hosts monthly wine flights at the CLO Cabaret Theater and we thought it would make a great girls’ night out. And it did.

Amanda and I had been to a Wednesday Night Wine Flight last May for my birthday and were excited to go again. So, last night we went with my Aunt Janet (her mom) and our soon-to-be-cousin, Krissy.

We were served four wines from Chile (two whites, two reds). They also served a delicious “light appetizer” of Mahi-Mahi in a red pepper sauce over crusty bread. Amanda and I were cracking up because a whole piece of fish is hardly a light appetizer.

We tasted these wines:

  • Terranoble Sauvignon Blanc
  • Cousino-Macul Sauvignon Gris (the surprise favorite at our table of red-wine drinkers)
  • Leyda Pinot Noir Classic
  • Terranoble Carménère Reserva 

I took some pictures of the wine and food to share. They are a little dark because the theatre had low lighting and I only had a cell phone camera– but I think you can still see how nicely they set everything up.

I would definately recommend these wine flights for anybody who really likes wine, or is just looking to do something different for a night out with friends or a special date. If wine isn’t your thing, you could also check out the Craft Beer School— we haven’t been to these yet but think we’d have an easier time coaxing the men in our lives to go to with us for beer over wine!

Don't Be Shy. Leave a Reply:

