Healthy Midday Snack: Brie and Fruit Preserves

New Year’s Resolutions. How do you feel about them?

I’m sure a lot of people are about to get snarky. I’ve noticed lately (mostly on Facebook– the world’s most depressing soapbox) that people are all about being “better-than” stuff… and sadly that’s the best way I can describe it. During this time of year, everybody is “too-good” to make New Year’s Resolutions.

But, I like the idea of starting fresh– and January 1st seems like a great time to do it. Afterall, I took down my old desk calendar and pinned up a new one–ready to be filled with important dates and events to look forward to. I created a new picture file (marked “Pictures from 2012,” of course) on my computer. My vacation days reset. And it’s a brand new tax-year. Personally, I have two resolutions and one of them is to get healthy.

I’ve been thinking a lot about my lifestyle choices lately and I realized that when I was younger I took some things for granted. I was always a skinny teenager, but I had some legit excercise just built into my daily routine. I had to walk to and from the bus stop everyday. I walked to my after-school job because I didn’t have a car. I had to run up and down stairs all day long between classes. In college, I couldn’t even get a ramen-free meal without going for a stroll. When I worked at a pizza shop, and later at a hotel, I was standing on my feet for 8 hours a day– which apparently burns way more calories than just sitting at a desk (where–by the way– I keep a snack drawer full of unhealthy treats).

So, my point is: now that I’m getting old– I need to work at this.

Recently, I read about “The Snob Diet,” in Glamour magazine. Have you heard about this? The basic gist is that you forgo the Lean Cuisines, Fat-Free Dressings, and Light Yogurts, and let yourself eat the decadent foods that will fill you up and leave you without those constant cravings that topple your efforts. I think this has merit even beyond the food that’s marketed to people (read: women) who are trying to lose weight. A chunk of fresh mozzeralla is going to be a more filling snack choice over string cheese (which is pretty delicious… ) same goes for fresh fruit for breakfast instead of a pop tart.

I’m not saying that I’m on the Snob Diet now or anything. I’m just saying that I kind of prefer to eat “real” food over “diet” food anyway, and when Yuseff and I went on our first Get-Healthy-Grocery-Shopping-Trip, we weren’t picking the Low-Calorie Foods, we were picking stuff that tasted good and would keep our stomachs satisfied at work, so we wouldn’t go visit Mr Vending Machine for a danish or bag of doritoes.

Holy Cow. That’s a lot of words up there to get to this:

It’s a Whole-Wheat Cracker with Brie and Blackberry Preserves. And it was delicious. I ate four of these yesterday around 3 PM– the time that I usually visit the Vending Machine, and not only did I feel full, but I didn’t eat my usual after-work-bowl-of-cereal that holds me over until dinner time.

Let me repeat that: four crackers filled me up enough that I didn’t need to eat again for five hours.

I’m hoping that we can really stick to planning our weekly meals and snacks before grocery shopping and preparing our food the night before (because nothing leads to leaving the lunchbox at home quite like hitting the snooze button too many times…)

What about you? What food do you like to eat that are healthy, just plain satisfying, or both?

3 thoughts on “Healthy Midday Snack: Brie and Fruit Preserves

  1. Pingback: Blueberry-Banana Breakfast « By the (cook)Book

  2. Pingback: Omelette Fuffins– South Beach Phase 1 Breakfast « By the (cook)Book

Don't Be Shy. Leave a Reply:

