Crock Pot Beef Bourguignon

My decision to start this blog came with a tiny nod to Julie and Julia– an okay movie with some pretty awesome performances that totally succeeded in making me super hungry.

I don’t remember much about it other than Meryl Streep being freakishly tall (and talking really weird) and Amy Adams having some kind of meltdown over Beef Bourguignon.


So– naturally I looked up the recipe and quickly realized that it takes a serious time commitment and a dutch oven– neither of which I have.

Enter: The Crock Pot

This recipe let us have all the fancy of french cooking without shackling me to the oven. Even better– the crockpot cooks this dish for 10 hours. I don’t know about you, but I work these pesky 8 hour shifts and haven’t yet mastered teleportation, so a 5 or 6 hour recipe never quite cuts it for me. This lets me turn on the power when I leave the house at 7 and is ready to eat when I get home at 5!

Crock Pot Beef Bourguignon

I completed all of the prep work (Steps 1-5) last night and let it sit in the fridge overnight. In the morning, I just dropped the basin into the crock pot and turned it on before leaving for work.

Step 1: Cook 6 Slices of Bacon in a skillet until crispy. Transfer to a plate lined with paper towels to drain.

Step 2: Brown 3 lbs of Cubed Round Beef Steak in the bacon grease. Then transfer it to the bottom of the crock pot basin. *Tip* you can buy steak already cubed and save yourself the hassle of cutting it yourself. It’s usually labled Beef for Stewing.

Step 3: Drain most of the excess grease, leaving a thin coat on the bottom of the pan. Slice 1 onion and 1 carrot and saute with 1 Tablespoon Tomato Paste, 2 Teaspoons Minced Garlic and 1 Teaspoon Thyme. Add Salt and Pepper to taste.

Step 4:  Add 10 oz Beef Broth and 3 Tablespoons Flour and mix well. Pour this mixture over the Beef Cubes.

Step 5: Add about 1/2 lb of Peeled Pearl Onions to the Crock Pot. Crumble the bacon on top.

Step 6: Cook on low heat for 10 hours.

Step 7: One hour before serving. Saute 1 lb Sliced Mushrooms and add to Crock Pot. Stir in 1/2 Cup of Burgundy Wine.

Serve with a crusty baguette

This was a super delicious meal– well worth the agonizing hour-long wait between my arrival home and Yuseff’s.

And– I’m extremely excited to say that I figured out how to add printable recipes to my posts! So, if you want to have this recipe in your kitchen, just click the link below.

Want to try this recipe? CLICK HERE for a printable version!

One thought on “Crock Pot Beef Bourguignon

  1. Pingback: Beef Curry Vindaloo « By the (cook)Book

Don't Be Shy. Leave a Reply:

