Santa’s Workshop Day 2: Book Page Marble Magnets

A few weeks ago, I made this Book Page Candle Holder using book pages that are the by-product of another DIY gift that I’m working on. I still have hundreds of book pages left to my disposal, so I decided to keep on crafting!

My brother is going off to college next year, so I’m hoping that I can inspire academic success by giving him gifts for his dorm room that will [maybe] make him look smart. I’m also banking on my hunch that he doesn’t read my blog to avoid a spoiler.

When I was in college, my roommate and I had a lot of dry erase/magnet boards to hang up important things/ pictures of our boyfriends, so I decided to make some cool magnets for Sam.

These were super easy to make and not at all expensive. I bought a bag of these large, flat marbles from the Dollar Tree and circular ceramic magnets from Michael’s (I think it was a pack of 50 magnets for $7). Of course, the book pages were basically free. You could also make these using cut out pictures from magazines.

Step 1: Choose 5 marbles and trace them onto the book page that you will be using. I used an old dictionary, so I choose pages at random and then tried to pick the coolest word on the page (like: Algorithm… ooh…). Cut out the pieces.

Step 2: Decoupage the circles onto the flater side of the marble and let dry completely.

Step 3: Use a hot glue gun to adhere the magnet to the back of the marble (so basically glue it to the side with the book page).

Step 4: If you got glue everywhere– like me– then you can use a Clorox or Lysol or Kirkland’s wipe to buff the top of the marble and remove any gluey fingerprints.

Et viola! You don’t get any easier than that, kids! They look really cool, too. I’m currently storing them on my refrigerator and I have to say that I could get used to them. Luckily– I have more than enough supplies to make a set for myself!

One thought on “Santa’s Workshop Day 2: Book Page Marble Magnets

  1. Pingback: Santa’s Workshop [Better-Late-Than-Never-Edition]: Hollow Book Treasure Box « By the (cook)Book

Don't Be Shy. Leave a Reply:

