Mini Pumpkin Pie Tarts

Like I said yesterday, I had an awful lot of pumpkin puree laying around after I made two pumpkin rolls, and it dawned on me that I was going to need to use it up. I wanted to make Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes, but Yuseff and Marco wanted Pumpkin Pie. So, I decided to make everybody happy and do both!

I really didn’t feel right about making a whole pie though, because I had purchased a Market Day Pumpkin Pie for one of Marco’s school fundraisers and we cooked it. And they each ate a big slice. And then two weeks later I threw away a moldy pie. What a waste! Also– Gross!

So, I decided to open up the box of Wilton Mini Tart Pans that I bought back in July (and promptly stuck in a cabinet to collect some dust) to make 4 mini pumpkin pies instead! The pie recipe comes from my Betty Crocker Cookbook– I just split the crust and “batter” between the four pans.

Marco really wanted his little dog, Fred, to be in this picture. I aim to please.

Mini Pumpkin Pie Tarts

Step 1: Cut 1/3 Cup + 1 Tablespoon Shortening into 1 Cup Flour and 1/2 Teaspoon Salt.

Step 2: Add 3 Tablespoons Cold Water (1 Tablespoon at a time) to the mixture and combine until you can pinch pieces together. Form two balls of dough.

It looks like this until you pack it all together

 

 Step 3: Roll your dough out into circles and press into mini tart pans. The edges of the tart pans are a little sharp, so you can easily cut off any overhang for a nice clean edge.

Totally looks like a circle...

 

Step 4: In a bowl, combine 3/4 Cup Sugar, 1/2 Teaspoon Salt, 1 Teaspoon Cinnamon, 1/2 Teaspoon Ginger, and 1/4 Teaspoon Ground Cloves.

Step 5: Beat 2 Eggs then add 2 Cups Pumpkin Puree (1-15 oz can) and 12 oz Evaporated Milk. I thought I had evaporated milk in my pantry, but it ended up being a 14 oz can of sweetened condensed milk. I used it anyway, but apparently they aren’t the same thing. It still worked, I think it just made for a sweeter pie.

Step 6: Distribute the pie filling between the tart pans. I had a lot left over so I scooped into a ziplock bag and froze it for future use. At this point, I put one tart in the oven at 425° and baked it for 15 minutes. Then lower the temperature to 350° and baked for another 20 minutes (*note* a whole pie bakes for 40 minutes on the second round).

Serve with whipped cream

For the remaining tarts, I put them in the freezer for 1 hour to harden and then removed them from the tart pans and placed them into individual ziplock bags, sucked out the air, and put back into the freezer. Next time one of my boys wants a pumpkin pie, I’ll just plop one back into a tart pan, defrost, and bake!

*IMPORTANT* If  you choose to do this, it’s EXTREMELY NECCESSARY to put the frozen pie back into the tart pan before you defrost. Yuseff put one of the ziplock bags into the fridge before work one day– thinking we’d have some dessert later– and I came home to a pumpkin mess. The pie dough is not prebaked and therefore not strong enough to harness the filling once it becomes liquified.

Less work for next time!

