Sausage Stuffed Mushroom Caps

It’s finally December and 2011 is winding to a close. My eyes are contantly on my calendar and I’m counting down to Christmas and New Year’s! Obviously, I love the holidays and celebrating with friends and family, but I’m most excited to skip ahead to early January, when I’ll finally be finished with my Masters Degree and Yuseff and I will live together. That means more time for cooking, eating, and blogging (and reading, and crafting, and playing).

My favorite time of year kicked off with Thanksgiving and Black Friday and I’m just now getting around to posting my contribution to the Trombetta Family Feast:

This recipe is super-simple and a huge hit with my family. I got the recipe from one of my co-workers after she made it for an office potluck and we all devoured them. I made a few adjustments to her recipe by using paprika and cayenne pepper for seasoning– instead of crushed red pepper– and sprinkling on some italian bread crumbs to make a nice crust.

Sausage Stuffed Mushroom Caps

Step 1: Rinse your mushrooms with cold water and remove the stems. I like using these big mushrooms from Costco (that’s the only place I can ever find them this size), but smaller ones work well too. I also found that using a round tablespoon is great for gauging out the whole stem and leaving a nice clean  mushroom bowl.

Step 2: Cook 1 package of Jimmy Dean’s Breakfast Sauage. Drain the excess grease.

Step 3: Combine the sausage with 8 oz of Philadelphia Cream Cheese, 1 Tsp Paprika, and 1/2 Tsp Cayenne Pepper. If you like spicy food, you can add more pepper, but I like to keep it mild.

Step 4: Remember the Tablespoon from Step 1? It’s just the right size for scooping the filling into the mushroom caps. After the caps are full. Sprinkle some Italian Bread Crumbs on top of each one.

Step 5: Bake at 350° for 20 minutes. They get a little greasy in there, so when they are done, lay them on some paper towels to absorb the grease before arranging them on your platter.

Just writing this post made me crave one of these!

I also have three pumpkin recipes to post for those of you who still have some pumpkin puree laying around (which I totally did until I did some baking over the weekend). So stay tuned for Pumpkin Rolls, Mini Pumpkin Pie Tarts, and Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes. And at some point I will be posting instructions for some craft ideas for DIY Christmas Gifts (at the risk of blowing the surprise in the event that anybody in my family reads this blog).

2 thoughts on “Sausage Stuffed Mushroom Caps

Don't Be Shy. Leave a Reply:

