Peanut Butter and Jelly Ice Pops!

Several weeks ago, Marco and I became the proud owners of a set of Tovolo Ice Pop Molds. That next week, we got fancy and made these PB & J Ice Pops. It was a busy week filled with Honey-Ginger Salmon, Chicken Piccata, Crab Cakes, Barbeque Beef Sandwiches, and probably a steak (if there isn’t a blog post, I have to assume we ate steak again), so I never got around to posting them.

Since this was a slow cooking-week filled with Trick-or-Treating:

Arggh!

…and eating candy for dinner (just kidding– we ate a lot of pasta and homemade pizza, like this one), I figured that this is a good time to post this little treat!

This recipe comes from POPS!, a book that I ordered with the molds in order to qualify for “FREE Super Saver Shipping!” I tweaked it a little (as I often do…). I used grape juice instead of raspberry juice, and mine don’t have any chunks of fresh fruit in it, because I forgot to get them at the store, and didn’t feel like going back. The original recipe also calls for a layer of toasted sesame seeds around the bottom, but I omitted those because I didn’t think Marco would like them.

So, without further ado (or links to prior posts), here it is:

Step 1: In a blender, combine 1/2 Cup Peanut Butter, 1 Cup Plain Yogurt, 1 Cup Milk, 2 Tbsp Honey, and 2 Tsp Vanilla Extract.

Step 2: Distribute half of the mixture evenly in each popsicle mold. Refrigerate the other half. Freeze the first layer of the pops for at least one hour.

Step 3: Remove the molds from the freezer and evenly distibute 2 Cups Grape Juice, between the molds. Freeze until the juice starts to harden, but is still slushy, then insert your sticks. Return to the freezer until the juice is frozen solid.

Step 4: Add the final peanut butter layer by evenly distributing the remaining half of the peanut butter mixture into the molds. Return to the freezer for at least 8 hours before enjoying.

 I’ve given a lot of though to variations of this recipe and how I will make it next time, so feel free to either make it according to the instructions above, or experiment with this idea:

The pops were delicious but I was expecting a little more density. The peanut butter layers needed more peanut butter, so I will definately add at least another 1/4 cup of peanut butter (if not more) to the mix. And the jelly layer was really just fruit juice. So, next time, I will make a red grape sorbet mixture (like this one from epicurious) and use that instead of juice– it should have more texture and hold it’s flavor better.

Overall, these pops were fun to make, but do involve a lot of patience, since each layer has to set before you can add the next one. I promise though, it’s worth it!

One thought on “Peanut Butter and Jelly Ice Pops!

  1. Pingback: 44 Peanut Butter and Jelly Recies

Don't Be Shy. Leave a Reply:

