Craft Time: Ransom Note Alphabet Magnets

When Marco and I got home on Sunday, I felt like my best-bet for a

productive day was going to be laundry, vacuuming, and planning lunches and dinners for the week. Then, I decided to throw production to the wind and do a craft with Marco.

The inspiration came one day when I was wishing that I had a set of poetry magnets. I was also getting ready to throw away some promotional magnets that I had from Chinese Restaurants, Pizza Chains, and also my office (they give us magnetic academic calendars every year and for some reason I still had my ’09-’10 Calendar in my cubicle… totally pointless as we near 2012).

I know what you’re thinking: This is a cooking blog, we want recipes! But I promise you, this is a recipe; a recipe for fun, dang-nabbit! And—the added bonus is that it’s an educational activity. Marco did a great job of finding his alphabet letters—in order, differentiating between upper and lower-case letters, and even sounding out some words in advertisements and headlines. When we were all done, we used them to practice spelling on the refrigerator while we wrote each other messages!

Ransom Note Alphabet Magnets

Step 1: Grab some old magazines and catalogs and find letters—look for a nice size and interesting fonts. Cut out the ones you like!

Step 2: Use a glue stick to glue the letters onto flat promotional magnets. We started with the big calendar magnets from my office, then used a small business card sized one to fit the last handful of letter.

Hooray for recycling!

Step 3: Make a mixture of water and craft glue (I used Aleene’s Tacky Glue). It should be runny enough to paint easily, but still have an opaque white color.

Step 4: Paint or sponge the glue mixture over the letters. This is called decoupage. I did several layers of this over the course of the day. Marco helped with the first few layers, and then we went off to watch a movie. Then every time I passed through the dining room for the rest of the day I did another round.

Step 5: Once you are satisfied with your decoupaging, and the magnets are completely dry, cut out the letters and stick to the fridge!

The magnets aren’t strong enough to hold up a take-out menu or important flyers from school, but that’s not really what they’re for anyway!

UPDATE 6-28-12 When we made these, I hadn’t yet purchased my tub-o-Mod-Podge. You can definately use Mod Podge instead of a glue stick and tacky glue. In fact, the magnets will probably be more durable if you do.

Showing off the Letter Bowl

2 thoughts on “Craft Time: Ransom Note Alphabet Magnets

Don't Be Shy. Leave a Reply:

