Peanut Butter Hummus

I was in high school before I tried hummus for the first time, and I feel like I was really missing out for the first fifteen years of my life. Now, hummus is one of my favorite foods!

Unfortunately, my little Marco does not share my love of hummus, because– let’s be frank– it has a really strong flavor, mostly from the garlic and tahini. When I found this recipe for a kid-friendly twist on hummus, I knew I had to give it a shot! There is no tahini in this recipe, making it easier to find the ingredients and easier to get Marco to eat (hint: serve it with pita bread and veggies and call it “Peanut Butter Dip“).

The main ingredient in hummus is Garbanzo Beans (Chickpeas), which are high in protien, low in fat, and a great source of dietary fiber. If you’re looking to up the nutritional value of your kid’s PB & J sandwich, you could add more peanut butter (maybe 1/2 a cup, depending on how resistant to hummus your little one is) to this recipe and nix the garlic.

Peanut Butter Hummus

Step 1: In a food processor, combine 1 15oz can Chickpeas, 1/3 Cup Warm Water, 1/4 cup peanut butter, 2 Tbsp Olive Oil, 3 Tbsp Lemon Juice, 1/2 Tsp Minced Garlic, 1/4 Tsp Kosher Salt

It’s very dark in there…

Step 2: Oh, who am I kidding? There is no Step 2! Just grab some pita bread and veggies and enjoy!

 

This healthy snack will stay fresh in the refrigerator for about three days– so get ready for a really tasty three days!

2 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Hummus

  1. Thanks for sharing the recipe! I bet I could get my fiance to try this. He’s usually opposed to hummus, but he’ll eat almost anything with peanut butter in it.

Don't Be Shy. Leave a Reply:

