Halloween Week Day 4: Mummy Dogs

Let’s be honest, here. You can’t go anywhere near a cooking magazine or recipe website in September/October without seeing the spooky Halloween Twist on the classic Crescent Dogs. So, obviously, when I started making my list of ideas for Kid-Friendly Halloween-Themed meals, this recipe was #1.

You can find this recipe, and others, on the Pillsbury Website. I’ll be totally honest though– I bought a generic brand of crescent rolls, because it was way cheaper. I also didn’t make ALL 10 of the mummy dogs, because I need the hot dogs and crescent rolls for something on Sunday (I hope I just built up some suspense… tune in on Monday to see what it is…)

Mummy Dogs

Step 1: Unroll a can of crescent rolls and separate the dough into four rectangles, I only made two mummy dogs, so I used one rectangle.  Slice the rectangle into 10 strips using a pizza cutter, scissors, or a knife.

Step 2:  Cut slices of American Cheese into 4 long strips. Lay a strip of cheese on each Hot Dog and wrap 4 strips of dough around each one like bandages. The dough will stretch so don’t be afraid to tug on it as you wrap– it’ll make the strips go further. Leave a space for his “face” to peek out.

Step 3: Lay the mummies, cheese side down, on a baking sheet and spray ever-so-lightly with cooking spray. Bake at 375º for about 15 minutes. You want the hot dogs to be cooked through and the dough to be golden brown.

Step 4: Give him some yellow-mustard eye-balls. Soooo spoooooky!

Marco loved dipping his Mummy into ketchup and biting off his head. I resisted all urges to be morbid and call the ketchup “blood.” As much as I love Halloween– I’m not really into the guts and gore that some people get into.

Tonight– Yuseff and I are taking Marco to the Haunted House Party at his school. I’ve been looking forward to this all week and can’t wait!

3 thoughts on “Halloween Week Day 4: Mummy Dogs

  1. Pingback: Halloween Week Day 3: Black Olive Jack-O-Lantern Pizza « By the (cook)Book

Don't Be Shy. Leave a Reply:

