Made with Love: Sunday Morning Buttermilk Pancakes

I love breakfast more than any other meal. In fact, I secretly resent Brunch for always having too much “unch” and not enough “Br.” So, Saturday and Sunday morning breakfasts are a must in our house… er… houses.

I’ve already talked about how I cannot resist the allure of a brand new toy for my kitchen, and last Saturday was no exception. I was on a mission to find pie weights so that I can make a Dulce de Leche Tart, but after Wal-Mart and the baking aisle turned up nothing, and getting to Crate 20 minutes after closing, I gave it one last shot by running into Marshall’s, where I sometimes have luck finding that one specialty item.

Unfortunately, Marshall’s was clean out of pie weights, but luckily I had Marco and Yuseff with me– and they are just as easily attracted to shiny objects in a store as I am. One of them handed me a Heart Shaped Norpro Pancake Pan, and I knew instantly that I HAD to have it. (I was so excited about it that I can’t even remember which one of them found it.)

The next morning, I didn’t even have to think about what to make for breakfast. Obviously, I was going to break-in my new Pancake Pan!

I used a recipe from a Betty Crocker Cookbook that I “borrowed” from my mom when I got my first apartment. This is without a doubt my favorite cookbook because it’s filled with basic recipes that are perfect for somebody learning their way around the kitchen– sometimes you’re just a girl trying to bake a potato for the first time! So– if you want to start cooking from scratch, but aren’t ready to go wild with unusual ingredients and flavor combinations, you should grab a Betty Crocker cookbook!

Step 1: Combine 1 egg, 1 cup flour, 1 Tbsp sugar, 2 Tbsp Vegetable Oil, 1 Cup Milk, 1 Tsp Baking Powder, 1/2 Tsp Baking Soda, and 1/2 Tsp Salt 

Step 2: Heat up two pans: one shaped like a little heart, and one normal one. Pour your pancake batter into the heart shaped one, and cook until bubbles begin to form on the surface.

Step 3: Flip the pancake into the regualar pan and cook the other side. Be sure to coat the pan with cooking spray between each pancake to avoid making a big mess!

These were the best pancakes, ever. We topped them with Smuckers Blueberry Syrup– so delicious! I really see no need to return to eating circular pancakes. If hearts aren’t your thing, maybe you can check out their other pancake pan shapes, like Monkey, Pig, and Bear shapes!

 

Don't Be Shy. Leave a Reply:

