Too Tired to Be Clever: I Made Chicken Piccata

I was cooking dinner tonight when– without my noticing– the flame on the burner went out and the stove just kind of continued to leak gas into the apartment. So– I felt pretty sick by the time I noticed that my pan wasn’t heating up and got the burner relit. Long story short– I cooked a pretty great looking meal and didn’t eat any of it. We’ll see how it fares for tomorrow’s lunch!

Yuseff walked in the door just as I was getting his plate ready and he assures me that it tasted good, so I’m going to just go ahead and write this post anyway since I already took the time to photograph each step.

This recipe for Chicken Piccata comes from Ina Garten’s cookbook: Barefoot Contessa at Home. I’ve made this dish before and I love this recipe because of how easy it is to make, even though it tastes complicated.

Step 1: Use a meat smacker to pound two chicken breasts until they are only 1/4 inch thick. I forgot to bring my meat smacker over, so I improvised by using a saucepan.

Believe it or not– I didn’t get it as thin I thought I would.

Step 2: Prepare a plate with 1/2 cup of flour, 1/2 tsp salt and a pinch of black pepper

Step 3: Prepare a plate with a beaten egg and 1/2 tablespoon of water

Step 4: Prepare a plate with 3/4 cups of Italian Breadcrumbs

Step  5: Line up your plates and coat the chicken breasts in the flour, then the egg, and finally the breadcrumbs 

Step 6: Place the chicken in a pan on medium heat with two tablespoons of olive oil. Brown on each side for 2 minutes

Step 7: Place into a 400° oven and bake 5-10 minutes. I was on the phone with my mom and over-browned in the pan, so I only left the chicken in the oven for 5 minutes to avoid drying it out.

Step 8: Use a dry paper towel to wipe out the pan that you cooked the chicken in and add 1 tbsp of butter, juice from two lemons, and the lemon peels, 1/2 cup white wine, and salt and pepper to taste.

Step 9: Bring the sauce to a boil and reduce by half, then remove from heat and discard lemon peels. Add 1 more tbsp of butter and let it melt in the sauce. Stir.

Step 10: Serve the sauce over the chicken breasts and garnish with lemon slices. 

Tomorrow night I am making Crab Cake Sandwiches. And I will more than likely refer to them as Crabby Patties. Hopefully– I’ll keep a closer eye on the stove and won’t spend the whole dinner wishing I had ginger ale!

One thought on “Too Tired to Be Clever: I Made Chicken Piccata

  1. Pingback: Peanut Butter and Jelly Ice Pops! « By the (cook)Book

Don't Be Shy. Leave a Reply:

