Honey-Ginger Salmon, Ginger Salad Dressing, and Lemon-Ginger Tea!

I love going to Hibachi Restaurants like Benihana, Ichiban, Nakama, Yokoso, and Saga– to name a few (or pretty much all of the ones in the Pittsburgh Area…). Whenever I’m craving hibachi, I’m more or less craving two specific things– the shrimp sauce, and the ginger salad dressing.

Fun fact– you can order the sauces/ dressing to go. We’ve done that a few times and cooked up our very own hibachi meals. Once, my mom and I even threw them in a cooler, drove to NYC to see my sister, and cooked a delicious steak and shrimp feast in her tiny galley kitchen.

Anyway– I decided to make Honey Ginger Salmon tonight and I thought a salad with the ginger dressing would be a nice side dish. I found a “copycat” recipe here, at recipetrove.com. Basically, you just dump your ingredients into a blender and hit go!

1/4 cup minced onion, 1/4 cup peanut oil, 1/6 cup rice vinegar, 1 tablespoons water, one piece of peeled fresh ginger about 1/2 inch long, 1 tablespoons minced celery, 1 tablespoons ketchup, 2 teaspoons soy sauce, 1 teaspoons sugar, 1 teaspoons lemon juice, 1/4 teaspoon minced garlic, 1/4 teaspoon salt, Pinch black pepper

The Salmon Recipe comes from one of my many Costco Cookbooks: Smart Cooking the Costco Way.  

Step 1: Place the salmon, skin side down on a cutting board and remove the skin by first cutting into the fillet just above the skin, then grabbing the skin and pulling as you continue to slice through the flesh.

If I weren't holding the camera, I'd be holding that flap of salmon skin.

 Step 2: Marinate the salmon for at least two hours in 2 tbsp soy sauce, 2 tbsp honey, 1 tbsp fresh minced ginger, 1 tbsp Lemon Juice, and 1 tbsp white wine. I also sprinkled in a little extra ginger powder.

Step 3: Remove from marinade and place in 375° oven for 15 minutes.

Step 4: Combine 2 tbsp of melted butter with 1/8 cup of brown sugar (for two servings of salmon, create more glaze for more fish) and brush over the cooked salmon. Return to broiler for 5 minutes to glaze.

If you want a way to use up the rest of your ginger root you can make Lemon, Honey, Ginger Tea. I drank this in Amherst, MA with my very good friend Katrina a couple of summer’s ago at a fantastic little place called Fresh Side Eatery. Anybody in the area of UMass should definitely pop in for a delicious– possibly vegan– lunch. They have these things called Tea Rolls, which are amazing. I think of them often and fondly. Anyway– this tea is my go-to home remedy when I’m feeling under the weather. I was going to make it last night, but it was unnecessarily hot last night and I didn’t want hot tea.

Step 1: Heat water in a tea kettle (or by some other method if you don’t have your tea kettle handy)

Step 2: Juice one lemon into the hot water and drop lemon peels into the water to steep.

Step 3: Chop one inch of fresh ginger root into medallions and drop into the hot water. For extra gingery flavor– sprinkle in some powdered ginger as well.

Step 4: Add honey to taste. It’s great to soothe a sore throat, but also makes the tea sweet! So for a bitter tea, go lightly!

Step 5: Steep 1-2 bags of chamomile tea to desired strength

I’ll leave you with this question: Why aren’t Salmon-Skin Handbags a thing, yet?

I think I'm on to something...

2 thoughts on “Honey-Ginger Salmon, Ginger Salad Dressing, and Lemon-Ginger Tea!

  1. Pingback: Peanut Butter and Jelly Ice Pops! « By the (cook)Book

  2. Pingback: Leg of Lamb with an Olive Crust « By the (cook)Book

Don't Be Shy. Leave a Reply:

