Kids Like Cheese and Chicken: Chicken Quesadillas

A lot of my posts during my weeks with Marco are more than likely going to be snacks, desserts, and fun little things like that. I do feed him real and nutritious food, but he’s a kid (obviously). As much as I imagined having a trendy little guy who likes eating exotic and exciting foods– like sushi and baba ghanoush– I ended up with a run-of-the-mill 5-year-old who would be perfectly content eating chicken nuggets and pudding every night.

So– during Marco-weeks, most of the meals I cook aren’t really worth publishing. I just wanted to throw it out there that we eat more than chocolate cake and ice pops.

On Tuesday night, I made us Cheesy Chicken Quesadillas. I told him that it was Chicken Grilled Cheese, because any word that sounds unusual is automatically “very yucky for me.” This is also why I told him that Wednesday night’s alfredo was Italian Mac-N-Cheese. I feel kind of bad about my re-naming, but not as bad as the time I told him that the lamb and couscous was hamburger and rice. And he cried the whole time he ate it. And now he won’t eat rice.

Little did I know that putting chicken on a sandwich is also “super disgusting,” and I had to separate his tortilla from the filling.

In any event– for those of you who aren’t in Kindergarten (or who have kindergarteners in your life without such sensitive palettes), here is a quick recipe for making Cheesy Chicken Quesadillas. The original recipe comes from Yuseff– who is much better at making things up as he goes along. I adapted it to make it less spicy for Marco so I will also let you know how to make it more flavorful for grown-ups.

Step 1: Simmer some milk in a saucepan (enough to cover the bottom) with about 1/2 a Tbsp of butter.

Step 2: Add shredded cheddar cheese (or Velveeta cheese– just make sure you grate it) and stir until it is all melted. I used about four Sara-sized-handfuls.

Step 3: Saute your cubed chicken in a pan with olive oil and garlic.

Step 4: Spoon the chicken into your cheese mixture with sliced black olives.

Step 5: Use the sea-salt-method that I used last week to cook the quesadillas. Sprinkle coarse salt (like sea salt) into a heated pan, spread the cheese mixture onto a tortilla and crisp it up in the pan.

Step 6: Serve with a Corn Bread Muffin and Corn-Off-the-Cob

Grown-up Variations: Season the chicken with Taco/Fajita seasoning to give it extra flavor. You can also saute jalapenos, red and green peppers, and onions and add those to the cheese mixture as well.

This was a nice filling meal! Neither one of us could even finish– which worked out, because I had enough leftovers to take lunch to work for Y and me the next day. They tasted just as yummy on day two, which is always a bonus!

2 thoughts on “Kids Like Cheese and Chicken: Chicken Quesadillas

  1. Pingback: Halloween Week Day 1: Jack-O-Lantern Cheese Quesadillas « By the (cook)Book

  2. Pingback: Halloween Week Day 2: Bat Noodles with Orange Halloween Sauce and Bat Garlic Bread « By the (cook)Book

Don't Be Shy. Leave a Reply:

