Hanging on to Summer: Apple Cider Pops and Strawberry Lemonade Pops

Remember last week when I made Avocado Ice Pops using a styrofoam cup and plastic knife, then decided that I had to have ice pop molds?

Well that was probably one of the best decisions of my lifetime. On Tuesday, Marco and I got home from a long day of Kindergarten and work, respectively, and the package from Amazon.com was waiting patiently on the doorstep.

Marco scooped it up and I told him that there was a wonderful surprise inside for us to share. We were barely in the house before I was busting through the tape with my fingernails and Marco was tearing plastic wrap off of the popsicle molds. The door was still open, my keys were dangling from the lock, our shoes were still on our feet and our jackets were on the dining room floor.

I also had the foresight to order a popsicle recipe book, but not the foresight to find out what sorts of ingredients I should have on hand.

Marco was hellbent on making some though– and I was too– even it meant making water-flavored pops. Luckily– we had made some impulse purchases at the grocery store last weekend and I had some lemonade and apple cider. I also had some strawberries that my mom had brought us from Costco. So we made 3 Strawberry-Lemonade Pops and 3 Apple Cider Pops. Nothing fancy– just poured the juice in!

The downside-- waiting for these to freeze.

Last night, after we ate our dinner, Marco and I excitedly slid our pops out of their molds! They turned out really cute and the molds are nice and easy to use, dishwasher safe, AND BPA free. You just don’t get any better than that!

And as a side note– I used Newman’s Own Virgin Lemonade for the lemonade pops and while I was reading the carton, I learned that they donate 100% of all profits to charity. That’s good stuff right there. I’m going to start to be more on the lookout for their products (which I know I see everywhere, I just never had much of a reason to pick them over another brand).

So, all-in-all the ice pop molds make me very happy and Marco and I are excited to try some of the gourmet pops from the new cookbook. He is very interested in the peanut-butter-and-jelly pops, but thinks that the Dirty Martini pops look really disgusting. And I’m okay with that.

2 thoughts on “Hanging on to Summer: Apple Cider Pops and Strawberry Lemonade Pops

  1. Pingback: Kids Like Cheese and Chicken « By the (cook)Book

  2. Pingback: Peanut Butter and Jelly Ice Pops! « By the (cook)Book

Don't Be Shy. Leave a Reply:

