Hot Chocolate Cake– in a mug!

On Monday, Marco and I tried quite unsuccessfully to bake up a batch of vanilla bean cupcakes. The paper wrapper stuck to the cake and they were somehow dry and undercooked all at once. It was a disaster:

Gross.

I’m truthfully not even sure how they could have gone so wrong. I mean– look at who I had on my team:

This kid is a legit baker.

 So– I was looking for a way to redeem myself yesterday, and I came across this video on youtube that says you can make a chocolate cake in 5-minutes using a mug and a microwave.

 
 
 
The best part is that unlike some cupcake recipes I know, all of the ingredients are inexpensive and already laying around in my pantry– so no inappropriately expensive trips to the grocery store!
 
I deviated from the recipe in the video just a smidge. Instead of using 1 heaping tbsp of cocoa powder, I used a heaping 1/2 tbsp of cocoa powder and a heaping 1/2 tbsp of Penzy’s Spices Hot Chocolate Mix (a gift from the Hot Chocolate gods. I promise.) I also used peanut butter and chocolate swirl chips, since I didn’t have any regular ones.

4 Tbsps each of flour and sugar. 3 Tbsps each of oil, milk, and peanut butter chocolate swirl chips. 2 Tbsps of a whisked egg, Heaping 1/2 Tbsp each of cocoa powder and Penzy's Hot Chocolate, and a splash of vanilla.

 Step 1: Mix up all of your ingredients in a mug. If it’s 75° F outside and all you have is a snowman mug, that’s okay.

I love having help!

Step 2: Pop it in the microwave for 2 1/2 to 4 minutes. After the first 2 1/2 minutes, I kept checking on it and then sticking it back in for 30 seconds if it didn’t look done.

This looks done

Step 3: Let cool and then decorate with whipped cream and sprinkles (Marco really likes sprinkles).

Is it hot chocolate? Is it a cake? What a surprise!

As far as cake goes, this wasn’t a knock-your-socks-off delicacy. BUT– Marco and I did have fun making it together, it was a good portion for sharing and it was fast and mess-free. I’d compare it to those Betty Crocker Warm Delights. I’d say that we’ll probably be making this treat again sometime that we’re craving something sweet, but don’t feel like breaking out the stand mixer.

6 thoughts on “Hot Chocolate Cake– in a mug!

  1. Pingback: Kids Like Cheese and Chicken « By the (cook)Book

  2. I can’t wait to try this! I’ve been craving home-made cake for days now but I don’t have an oven in my apartment to make one and this is the perfect solution. But I’m really bad in the kitchen (so bad I burn hot dogs in the microwave) so do you think this will work out with cake in a box stuff they sell at the grocery store?

  3. Pingback: Vanilla Bean Cupcake with White-Chocolate Wasabi Frosting « By the (cook)Book

Don't Be Shy. Leave a Reply:

