Somethin’ Spicy!: Hot Jalapeno Boats

Last month, my Uncle R made some very tasty jalapeno bites for a family party. They were so delicious and very spicy. I only ate one because Yuseff dared me too!

We had some jalapenos left over from the Guacamole, so Yuseff suggested that I get the recipe for those spicy little snacks and make them and make them for him. So, I did.

Yuseff ate a whole row before I got to take a picture. They're that good.

 

I got an e mail with two recipes, neither of which looked exactly like the jalapeno boats that we remembered, but both seemed to contain components that were familar. So, I went ahead and comined the recipes.

Here’s what to do:

Step 1: Slice each pepper in half and scrape out the seeds from inside.

Step 2: Mix 6 oz Cream Cheese, 1/4 c Shredded Parmesan cheese, and 2 Tsp minced Garlic. Spread the mixture into the jalapeno halves. I only had 8 peppers, and this made way too much filling. I could have probably cut it in half, so use your best judgement for how much you should make.

Step 3: Line the boats up in a glass dish and top each with a small strip of uncooked bacon.

Step 4: Bake for 30-40 minutes until the bacon is cooked through.

These make a great appetizer for parties and are perfect for watching the football game. I think. I don’t really watch football, so… I don’t really know what tastes good with it.

Yuseff and I also talked about next time cooking the bacon first and then baking the peppers for only 10 minutes, to keep the peppers crunchier. Either way would work great.

3 thoughts on “Somethin’ Spicy!: Hot Jalapeno Boats

  1. Pingback: Lemon and melon and meat, oh my! « By the (cook)Book

Don't Be Shy. Leave a Reply:

