Tastes Like Chicken: Chicken Diane and Garlic Blanched Green Beans

Tonight I wrapped up my first week of blog-worthy meals with Chicken Diane and Garlic Blanched Green Beans.

This recipe is actually the first “real-food” recipe that I ever attempted. It comes from a humongous cookbook that I got as a gift a few years ago: The 1000 Best Recipes.

Of the 1000 recipes, that supposedly out-do all others, I’ve made exactly two. The book apparently was published in Australia and features a lot of ingredients that are hard to find in Carnegie and there’s also a lot of meat pies, which I’m not a fan of out side of Mrs. Lovett’s Pie Shoppe. And a lot of them are super time-consuming. And you have to spend time Googling questions like “how many tablespoons are in an ounce?”

Nevertheless– I’ve made this recipe a handful of times and really enjoy it. I like to make extra sauce and drizzle it over mashed potatoes (which I’d have also made if somebody wasn’t dragging me into his diet).

Chicken Diane and Garlic Blanched Green Beans

So here we go:

Step 1: Let your chicken come to room temperature and cut it in to strips. The recipe calls for chicken thighs, but I prefer breast meat. I cut it into smaller pieces, because I buy it from Costco and they get their meat from chicken-Giants and it doesn’t cook through if I don’t. You can feel free to leave it whole if you don’t have unreasonably large pieces of meat. Also– put a pot of water on the stove to boil

Step 2: Melt 6 Tbsp butter in a pan with 1 heaping tsp of minced garlic. once it starts to simmer add your chicken and cook it through. Leave your pan on medium heat to avoid burning the butter.

Step 3: Drop your green beans into the boiling water and prepare a bowl of ice water. Set aside.

Step 4: Once your chicken is cooked, remove it from the pan and set aside. You should still have butter and garlic in there. Mix in 1 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce, 2 Tbsp parsley, 1/3 c sour cream, 2 tbsp heavy cream. Stir constantly until it is smooth and heated through.

Step 5: Add the chicken back to the pan with the sauce and turn to coat, cover to keep warm. Remove the green beans from the boiling water with tongs and place them immediately into the ice bath.

Step 6: Heat some olive oil in a new pan with 1 heaping Tbsp minced garlic, add blanched green beans and sprinkle generously with Kosher Salt and cracked pepper. Saute until they are reheated and ready to serve!

This is another one of those menus that comes together in about 20 minutes with minimal mess!

Tomorrow– I sleep in, Yuseff makes me breakfast, and I do some homework assignments that I’ve been putting off. Can’t wait!

Sunday– I get to pick up Marco from his dad and we kick off next week with kid-friendly grown-up meals!

4 thoughts on “Tastes Like Chicken: Chicken Diane and Garlic Blanched Green Beans

  1. Pingback: Lemon and melon and meat, oh my! « By the (cook)Book

Don't Be Shy. Leave a Reply:

