Spinach-Bacon Salad and Balsamic Vinaigrette

Yuseff doesn’t want to eat carbs…
…and he’s dragging me down with him.

When I sat down with Yuseff to make our menu/ grocery list for the week, he said something truly awful to me: Baby, I’m really trying to go back to the low-carb thing. Low-carb is really difficult for me because I love all things bready. Sometimes, when Yuseff asks me what kind of food I’m in the mood for, I just say: Carbs.

So– I was faced with the daunting task of planning 5 meals that minimalized the use of carb-y foods. I think I rose to the challenge, though and I’m looking forward to kicking off this blog with the line-up we have planned.

First up:

Steak, Shrimp, and Bacon-Spinach Salad

Unfortunately, I planned the meal before I planned to officially start the blog, so there isn’t a recipe for the Steak or Shrimp. That’s just Yuseff’s specialty.

But I CAN share with you how I make the Bacon-Spinach Salad!

This recipe originally came from a meal that I made us a couple of weeks ago. It’s one of Rachel Ray’s 30-Minute Meals: Rosemary Chicken Breasts, Brown Butter and Balsamic Ravioli, Warm Spinach Salad with Pancetta and Sweet Vinaigrette. I made all three components of this– and it was all rather tasty– but for some reason we both just really loved the salad! So, I decided to make it again.

My version is different from Rachel Ray’s in three ways: 1. I use bacon instead of pancetta (mainly because I always have a ton of bacon on hand). 2. I toss the vinaigrette with raw spinach rather than letting it wilt on the stove (because I really don’t like the texture of cooked spinach– too slimy! gross!) 3. I used two shallots instead of one, because I had to buy a whole package and I figured, why not? They’re here.

So, here’s how to do it:

Step 1: Use kitchen shears to cut 5 pieces of thick bacon into pieces

 

Step 2: Cook your bacon until it becomes nice and crispy. Then remove bacon pieces and let drain on a paper towel. Pour the bacon grease out of the pan, but do not rinse/wash it out

 

To make the vinaigrette, you'll need 2 tbsp Olive Oil, 2 Tbsp Balsamic Vinegar, 2 tsp Sugar, and 2 small Shallots

 

Step 3: Thinly slice your shallots.

Step 4: Saute the shallots in the olive oil until they cook through and become transparent. Step 5: add the balsamic vinegar and sugar and simmer until the dressing thickens.

Step 6: Toss the bacon pieces and vinaigrette with Spinach Leaves. Enjoy!
I guess the most appropriate way to end this recipe is with a quote from one of my very favorite comedians, Jim Gaffigan: As soon as you add bacon to salad, it’s no longer salad. It just becomes a game of find the bacon in the lettuce!
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
6 thoughts on “Spinach-Bacon Salad and Balsamic Vinaigrette

  1. Pingback: Garlic-Lemon Tilapia and Lemon-Parmesan Risotto « By the (cook)Book

  2. Pingback: The World’s Greatest Steak Sandwich « By the (cook)Book

  3. Pingback: Homemade Mushroom Ravioli in a Brown Butter Sauce and Spinach Bacon Salad « By the (cook)Book

Don't Be Shy. Leave a Reply:

