Falafel Crusted Chicken with Hummus Slaw

Over the weekend I caught up on some reading. I recently finished two books: Room by Emma Donahue and The Help by Kathryn Stockett. Now, I know that this blog is about food (and sometimes crafts), but let me digress for a second to talk about books. The Help is freaking amazing. Probably one of the best books that I’ve read in a long time. I watched the movie a few weeks ago, and after the credits started rolling, I considered watching it all over again. I got the same feeling from the book. Both are incredible and this was an example of a book that translated really well to film– I simply can’t say that one was “better” than the other. I will say that you can’t go wrong by checking out either the book, the movie, or preferably both.

But anyway– since I spent November and December trying to get through the holidays and my Capstone for my masters, then spent January devouring the aforementioned novels, I was a wee-bit backed up on my magazine subscriptions. Needless to say, I spent the better part of my weekend with my nose in my NOOK.

That’s how I discovered this gem of a recipe in Food Network Magazine’s “Light” Issue. This delcious meal is super easy to make and only has 366 calories! And it’s super filling, I didn’t even finish my plate!

You can view the original recipe here. As always, I modified it a bit by leaving out the radishes and parsley, substituting garlic hummus for plain hummus, and substituting garlic chili sauce for harissa.

Falafel Crusted Chicken with Hummus Slawprint this recipe

Step 1: Slice 2 chicken breasts into strips. Toss with 2 Tbsp olive oil and coat with 1/2 Cup Falafel Mix. Layer strips onto a baking dish with a rack set up on top of it. This is key for letting the oil drip off and not frying your chicken (which = excess fat). Bake at 425° for 10-15 minutes (until crisp and cooked through).

Step 2: Mix 6 tablespoons roasted garlic hummus,  zest and juice of 1 lemon, 1/2 teaspoon garlic chili sauce. Reserve 2 tablespoons in a separate container (to drizzle on the chicken).

Step 3: Mix 4 Cups Coleslaw Mix with remaining hummus sauce. Stuff into warmed whole wheat pita halves. (this makes enough for 4 Pita Halves– so, 2 pitas).

This recipe makes 4 servings (usually I just cook enough for 2 or 3…) and it was so good that right now I– a general hater of leftovers– am eating it for lunch!

2 thoughts on “Falafel Crusted Chicken with Hummus Slaw

  1. Pingback: Curried Shrimp « By the (cook)Book

  2. Pingback: How To: Make a Meal Plan « By the (cook)Book

Don't Be Shy. Leave a Reply:

